My Entry: Tell Us About Your Favourite Football Memory Contest

in World Of Football ⚽3 years ago (edited)

My team and myself(goalkeeper)


Greetings Everyone,

I wish to take advantage of this contest by @njaywan to share with you my most cherished football memory. Come along with me and visualize my memory as matters unfold.


It all happened during my junior high school days when my school, Heavenly Home Academy received a letter to participate in a zonal football league. The terms of the game were that the winner of each zone will progress to the Knock-out stage which would be played in one of the most reputable football stadiums in Ghana, Esipon Sports Stadium

Truth be told, my school was more particular about academic excellence, with little to no interest in extracurricular activities ever since a new proprietress to over its administration. It was tough trying to convince her to allow us to participate in the league but Clara and Tailya came through for us by convincing her to allow us to play in the league.

Clara and Tailya were two volunteers from outside the country. My school used to have two whites volunteers each academic year.


Zonal Competition


Hayford, Desmond, Emma, Juran and Ezekiel from the left


The first phase of the league, thus the zonal competitions took place on Thursday and Friday.

Our starting XI :

  • Myself (Goalkeeper), Juran, Reginald, and Charles as Defenders. Hayford, Emma, Desmond, Mustapha, and Edwin played in the midfield positions with Ezekiel and Frank playing as strikers

We were a team of inexperienced footballers from junior high school but we were out to give it our best and have fun.
our ladies cheered us on vibrantly as we took played the games.


Our ladies cheering us up


We managed to win all our games and emerged victors of our zone. We played a total of 3 games during the zonal. We won two of our matches by just 1 goal to nil and the third match was a penalty shoot-out in which I saved two of the opponent's spot-kicks.


Game on


I became the hero of the team after we won the zonal competition. I kept two clean sheets and rescued us in the penalty shootout. Everyone on the pitch, myself included was marveled as to how I perform magnificently in the games. It was like one man against 11 opponents eager to score a goal but I sailed through regardless.
My name was chanted everywhere with strangers admiring me from every corner. I wasn't expecting anything less from the next stage at Esipon Sports stadium.


At Esipon Sports Stadium


The knock-out stage took place the next week on Thursday and Friday with 8 schools from 8 different zones.
We were drawn against Ludic Preparatory School for our first match in the knockout stage.

Following our victories in the zonal competition, we had high hopes of staying longer in the competition for starters. Frankly speaking, the only player with much experience in our team was Hayford(captain). He played for a local football club in his vicinity.


Lining Up for the Game


We started the first 5mins strong and that was all the possession we had in the game. Believe me when I tell you that we hardly got a piece of the ball after 10mins of gameplay.
We finally met our superiors as we defended the game like our lives were on the line. Even the attackers and midfielders turned into defenders.

Our opponent's first goal came around 20 min when a counterattack from our side was intercepted and a long shot from the center of the field by the opponent's player caught me off guard.

I was almost at the edge of the 18yards box when the ball was kicked. I made an effort to rush back and recover but the ball hit the top post and went straight for my face. I became disoriented and incapacitated for a while. When I regained consciousness, I realized I had scored an own goal. Pretty hilarious right.


Taliya watching the game with the other subs in dismay


Shortly after the first goal followed the 2nd goal for our opponent. At that stage of the game, the whole team became disorientated but still held our defense until we were saved by the halftime whistle.

We came back for the second half determined to make a mark as were received some coaching advice from our captain and motivation from Clara and Tailya. The game turned against us once more in the 70th min when all my teammates got tired.

At some point in time, The game became hilarious. My own defenders were dribbled in the penalty box right before my eyes. It looked like our opponents were making a mockery of our defense

The game ended with us losing by 3 goals to nil. It was a game well played but sadly, we had been knocked out of the competition.

Ludic Preparatory School excelled through the various stages to the finals before their dismissal from the game. It was discovered that the school had enrolled players from a local football club to play in the competition as students of the school. This led to their disqualification from the tournament. The trophy was automatically given to the other finalist.

We were really glad to hear the news of their disqualification. At least the teasing from our the ladies ceased, knowing that we played against players of an actual football club posing as students of Ludic.


Memories of this football tournament shall forever live rent-free in my head along with the mark of a healed wound I got as a goalkeeper on my right hand, always there to remind me of that game.

Thanks for your attention.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Great memory and sorry for the wound. It all part of the game😃😃

 3 years ago 

😅😅 For the love of the game right

 3 years ago 

Awesome memory.

I see you were quite the goalkeeper.

Why do some teams just feel the need to cheat during these games. I simply don't get it.

It was discovered that the school had enrolled players from a local football club to play in the competition as students of the school.

Funny how you ended up with a goal, haha

When I regained consciousness, I realized I had scored an own goal. Pretty hilarious right.

Great entry. Thank you for your participation.

 3 years ago 

Thanks 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76