Neymar believes the 2022 World Cup will be his last, admitting, "I don't know if I have the mental strength to deal with football."

in World Of Football ⚽3 years ago

Greetings World of Football.

image.png

source


After failing in his two previous attempts to win football's most prestigious prize, the Brazil international believes that next year will be his last chance.

After the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, Neymar has admitted that the strain of the game has taken its toll on his body and mind, and he does not expect to play another World Cup.

At the 2014 and 2018 editions, the Brazil star led his country's efforts to win their sixth title, only to fall short in the semi-final and quarter-final stages, respectively.

With less than a year until the next competition, he isn't optimistic about continuing his international career until the 2026 World Cup in the United States, Canada, and Mexico.

What's Neymar's take on the situation?

I believe this is my final World Cup, he said.

"I consider it my final game because I'm not sure I have the mental strength to deal with football anymore."

"So I'll do everything I can to perform well, to win for my country, and to realize my greatest dream since I was a child." And I'm hoping I'll be able to do it."

So far, Neymar's World Cup story has been a success.

In 2014, Neymar got his first taste of the World Cup on home soil. The former Barcelona star was the standard-bearer for a Brazil team looking to win their first title since 2002 in front of their own fans at Rio de Janeiro's legendary Estadio Maracana.

Luiz Felipe Scolari's side breezed through the group stage with two wins and a draw before dispatching Chile on penalties to advance to the quarter-finals.

Colombia was up next in the last eight, and it was going to be a nightmare for Neymar.

Following a reckless challenge from Juan Zuniga, he was left with cracked vertebrae, and while Brazil beat their South American rivals, he and the suspended Thiago Silva were both ruled out of the semi-final against Germany, which culminated in a devastating 7-1 defeat.

After missing the final three months of the club season due to a foot ailment, Neymar found himself in a race against time to regain fitness in time for Russia 2018.

He ultimately joined Tite's team and scored twice during the tournament, but he couldn't get past Belgium's Thibaut Courtois as Brazil lost 2-1 to Belgium in the quarter-finals, missing out on the trophy for the second year in a row.

THANK YOU

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Neymar is so talented I feel he could play many more years to add.

Thats true

I don't think it would be his last.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44