You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How has Covid affected football in your country?

in World Of Football ⚽3 years ago

If someone ever predicted football would be played without fans, no one would have believe it. Covid 19 has really had impact in the game of football. I deeply remember when Ghana league was truncated and at the end of the season we have to select a team to participate in CAF and confederation cup. Since there was no winner for the league, it became be very difficult in choosing which team should represent Ghana in Champions league and confederation cup.
Not withstanding, football people in Ghana really suffered because in Africa the biggest sponsor of a team is its Supporters, unlike Europe where big companies pays much money to teams.
Players salaries not being paid for over a year, and up till now some teams are owing their players over.
Another thing again I can talk about is, Football is nothing without fans, the kind of excitement supporters brings to the stadiums is exceptional, over a year now, I've not been to the stadium which of course is the only thing that brings me joy and happiness. I don't know how to drink, smoke or anything of that sort. Watching football is all that brings me joy.
Now Gradually, is taken away the joy from me.. not me alone, I wonder how the love will come back at post covid 19.

My darling club Kumasi Asante Kotoko wouldn't have existed the Champions League at this stage with the fans at the stadium./
Covid has done enough to football both locally and internationally and I think The local people have been affected the most.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing - That's incredibly powerful. Similar to the feeling of loss, I think there's also fear for when it returns, the unknown of how it will return. Will fans have to wear masks? Will we need to socially distance? Will we be advised not to embrace when our team scores? We crave to be back in stadia but imagine celebrating a goal with nobody near you, nobody to hug. I find that hard, if not impossible to imagine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.10
ETH 3209.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49