Beware Of Bullying

in STEEM INDONESIA8 months ago (edited)

Beware Of Bullying.png
Edited on Canva pixabay

Let me state that it is a pleasure to be here in steem Indonesia to participate in this engagement challenge. The week two topic from this community is something I relate with very well. I have been a victim of bullying and right now I am advocate of stopping bullying knowing how this can have bad emotional and psychological effect on the individual.

During your life, have you ever received bullying? If so, in what form? physical, verbal or through cyber bullying. Provide your review?

I believe many have been a victim of bullying or bullies at some point in their life. If you've not been in any category then you must be very lucky. I on my end have been bullied physically, verbally and on the cyber space.

PHYSICAL
There was a time in secondary school where my mates were much bigger than me in stature. One of them called Abraham took to bullying me as an occupation. He would take my things and refuse to return them and on one occasion when I demanded for it he actually hit me against the wall and threatened me. He wasn't the only one, they were others too that did same to me because I was also very quiet and introverted.

VERBAL
I got this a lot from my dad, he was always quick to anger and when he was not beating me he would be using words to hurt me. I was always traumatized. In school my mates would use my weakness to ridicule me, maybe I was bad in a particular thing or subject. This made me very withdrawn and unable to associate much

bully-3233568_1280.jpg
Pixabay

CYBER BULLYING
The internet especially a place like Twitter X is now full of very toxic people who take to bullying others. If you were to drop an opinion that went contrary to theirs they would curse you, troll you, go back on your past tweets and bring up things to mock you. It has gotten so bad to it has now been normalised as dragging, a social media slang were you bully someone into shutting up which they call folding.
computer-5777377_1280.png
Pixabay

How do you equip your children to avoid bullying either at school or in their social environment

According to UNICEF parenting these are the following ways by which we can equip our kids to avoid bullying.

  1. Educate your children about bullying: Let your children know about bullying, what it is so that they can identify it when it happens to them or to someone else.

  2. Talk openly and frequently to your children: Talk to your children and be part of their daily life, that where you'll be able to detect when bullying occurs. They'll also be more open to you to let you know about their daily life.

  3. Help your child be a positive role model: There are three people to bullying: the victim, the bully and the bystander. Children should be taught to be inclusive and not just to stand and watch because they evil you watch today may knock on your door tomorrow. They should be able to stand up for bullied victims and question bullying behaviours.

  4. Help build your child’s self confidence: Teach your children to engage in activities they love and to make friends, this will boost their self-confidence.

  5. Be a role model:
    Children always look up to their parents, do not be a bully yourself. Speak against it, act against it and your kids will follow suit.

  6. Be part of their online experience: Get to know the online platforms your child uses, explain to your child how the online and the offline world are connected, and warn them about the different risks they’ll face online.
    " Source

Give your opinion on how to overcome bullying in form physical, verbal or through cyber bullying

Sharing from my own experience I think the best way is to speak out. In a school environment we have teachers and counselors we can speak to who are better equipped to handle this.
We can also stay aware from the bully and try to avoid anything that will make them want to bully us.

If it's a verbal bullying I try to close my ears and not allow anything they say get into my head. I shut myself out from the talk and noise.

In an online situation, it is very simple. Just block the person. All social media platforms have this options where you can block someone from accessing you.

Thank you for reading my article, I invite @comfortpeter, @wilmer98 and @goodybest to participate and give me their feedback.
STEEM On

Sort:  

Hello zekanem...
I really regret that you had to experience some physical and verbal abuse in your life. I have also experienced similar things. But I am sure you are now a strong person after all that happened.

And I am very interested in your opinion to avoid cyber bullying, which is to ignore it or block the account. I think that's a simple and effective way.

Good luck my friend 👍

This comment has been upvoted through -Steemcurator09.



Team Newcomer- Curation Guidelines For January 2024 Curated by - <@ashkhan>

Thank u so much for the support 🙏

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Hello @zekanem
You have written in-depthly on the topic.

Its really disheartening to face bully from your loved ones. It must have been so painful to see people who are supposed to shield you be the ones to bully you. Though sometimes it may not be unintentional. But the deed has been done. Please find a place in yoir heart to forgive him.

As future parents, we must be careful not to be the reason our children will experience pain.

We should also train our children to be responsible and not bullies.

 8 months ago 

Thank you for reading my post and for your reply. I faced a lot in their hands back then and I wouldn't love anyone to. Reason I always stand up for any victim of bullying. Hopefully things will change for the better.

Loading...
 8 months ago 

Hola amigo es triste saber que Durante tu vida escolar sufriste de acoso por parte de niños más grandes que tú, eso es algo típico los niños más grandes quieren intimidar a los más pequeños porque piensan que son más débiles
Debemos hablar con los niños y orientarlos para que cuando enfrenten una situación de acoso sepan como defenderse

 8 months ago 

Hola amigo! Que lamentable que hayas sufrido de bullying en diferentes formas, nadie merece tal situación. Espero que hoy en dia te encuentres mucho mejor, eres una persona fuerte.

Hablar y pedir ayuda es una etapa importante para poder ver la luz en dichas situaciones.

Éxitos.

 8 months ago 

Gracias @carlaisl

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62300.84
ETH 2421.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56