"Unique Traditions Of Indigenous People In My Country (Nigeria)"

in STEEM INDONESIA2 months ago (edited)

1709152867628.jpg
Source
Tradition can be seen as a laid down principles or rituals which is done occasionally and is passed down from the older generation to the younger generation. Sometimes, we might not know the clue about how it began but we believed it's from our ancestors. My country is named Nigeria. In Nigeria, there are diverse ethnic groups with their individual traditions. But, there's a popular tradition that is common in majority of Nigeria. Wanna know which one? Let's find out together.

Story About The Unique Tradition of Indigenous People Of My Country

The popular tradition common in major parts of Nigeria is Masquerades festival. This festival is a tradition and it's celebrated annually. In different pars of Nigeria, it has different names: In the Western part, it's called egun egun or ayo, In the eastern part, it's calledThere and it's called Ekpo or Ekpe in the Southern part. Currently, I don't really have a clue on it's origin but I know that it's represent spirits of the ancients.

Permit me to give my personal encounter with masquerade. In my tradition, there are adult and children masquerades. When I was a small boy, I went on an errand, then a kid masquerade scared me out of nowhere. My instinct of running was activated to it's maximum. I had a hot chase with this masquerade. Then I decide to jump over a half fence to escape this masquerade but I fell injuring myself in the process.

The masquerade stopped and turned it's back on me. Then I realized something funny: a scar on it's leg that is similar to my friend's own. Boom! It was my friend who decided to scare me. Later that day, I confronted him but he laughed so hard at me. It was really a funny experience.

download (3).jpeg
Source

Why Is This Tradition Unique

This tradition is really unique in Nigeria because of it's connectivity to our native land and our ancestors. Seeing a masquerade remind one that you came from a native land. It's general significance is that the emergence of masquerades brings fertility, good luck and progress to the land.

In My Opinion, Is This Tradition Still Worth Maintaining In This Modern Era?

Generally, I'll say that the traditions is still worth it in this modern era. The truth is no matter how modern a person is, you cannot take out the nativity in you. That's why it's still worth it.

I invite @bossj23, @usoro01 and @saintkelvin17 to this contest.

Thanks for Reading

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...
 2 months ago 

The ekpo festival in my area before it was banned was top notch. It was taken seriously by the villagers. Majority will see new clothes just to follow this masquerade on that special day. I don't see anything fun about it the way others see. Anyways, it's part of culture. Thanks for the invite

Ekpo festival is just part of my tradition even though I don't participate actively in it. Thanks for adding value to my post.

 2 months ago 

Ohhhh. Noted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73