Steemit Engagement Challenge - S6W2: "What Do You Do When You're Bored"

in STEEM INDONESIA2 years ago
Hello dear steemians. This is my first challenge in this community and I am very happy to do it. I want to thank @bntcamelo for the invitation and also, I invite @marpa, @mireyalongart and @mavilan to join.



image.png
Models for this post: my nieces (own picture taken with my cellphone)

I would like to start by sharing a definition of boredom from Merriam-Webster dictionary:

The state of being weary and restless through lack of interest
Source

I have to be very honest: I do not get bored too frequently, I am a very active person (too intense, by telling the truth).I am always doing any activity during all day long. Since I was a child I tried to give time to the most important things for me, that is God and family, nowadays I do not have a job, so I have more time to do some things I had to postpone in the past, but let me tell you that I am still human so, any time I could be bored. I experienced that feeling some months ago when I was living alone, especially when cooking because I did not like to prepare food just for me so I got bored at cooking- eating time.


Identifying possible causes of boredom:


In my personal opinion, boredom could have many causes: maybe the person is overthinking about something she/he has to do and mind is like tired and lazy, so boredom appears .Another cause could be doing things always in the same way, I mean, there is not a variation in the manner in which someone performs an activity and also, if a person does not have interest in a topic, activity or situation, he or she will get bored if is persuaded to get involved in those items.

I want to share with you an anecdote about myself. I have been a teacher for twelve years, I love teaching but there was a time in which I had to teach what people at school told me to do; there were some topics I did not consider relevant or appropriate to the context, the age of students, their interests and needs. I lost motivation about teaching. I did not prepare my classes as joyfully as I used to do before and, for students, it was worse because they did not enjoy their classes and got bored easily, it was a complete mess. After some weeks I reflected about that situation and decided to change that by talking to the coordinator to allow me a little bit freedom to modify some topics and use other strategies to get students` attention, and let me tell you that it worked, thanks God. They started participating in classes and they were satisfied, of course it was a tough work starting for me because I had to auto-motivate and strive a little bit more to overcome that “gray period”

image.png Edited in power point

Source picture1

Source picture 2

How do I overcome boredom? Activities I do to reach that.

When I get bored I try to do some activities that allow me to focus in another thing completely different from what I am doing (or trying to do) in that moment, for example:
Walk: Going to any specific place, just walking to see what is happening around and breathing calmly.
Enjoy nature: I love to see birds in trees, butterflies in flowers, the clean and blue sky and any detail in nature. It gives me peace and remains me that God is in control of everything.
Do housework: As incredible as it could seem, housework takes me out of boredom. For me it is like exercising, it gives me new energies to continue.
Look at cartoons: By doing that my mind “flies” to another place. I do this when I need to fulfill something and boredom has done its work so my ideas do not flow. After a break watching some cartoons, I can restart with a “fresh mind”.

image.png
Source

Some tips to prevent or overcome feelings of boredom:

When you get bored try to do some of these activities (some of them could work for you and some others don’t, so, how could you know? Just trying!

Watch television (according to your preferences: movies, cartoons, sports, reality shows…)
Listen to music
Practice handicrafts
Go to a park or any outdoor place
Play sudokus, puzzles, wordscrambles or maybe table games like monopoly, bingo, ludo and some others
*Do exercise or practice any sport *

The most important thing, according to me, is to know ourselves: try to get involved in activities we like the most and from time to time, incorporate new ideas to avoid monotony. I think there is always something to get rid of boredom; the key is to find it.

image.png
Source

Other information I consider important
is that boredom is not that negative, it could be acceptable in some moments in our lives and we can take advantage of it. It is part of emotions we feel as human beings, just like happiness, fear or sadness, so. The effects of boredom in our lives would depend on how we manage it.


I would like to finish this post with an interesting quote of philosopher Walter Benjamin:

“Boredom is the dream bird that hatches the egg of experience. A rustling in the leaves drives him away.”
Source

Thanks for your visit. Blessings to all of you.

To know more about me: @lopdel333

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Ciertamente

Cuando te aburras, trata de hacer algunas de estas actividades (algunas de ellas podrían funcionar para ti y otras no, así que, ¿cómo puedes saberlo? ¡Solo intento!
Ver televisión (según sus preferencias: películas, dibujos animados, deportes, reality shows…)
Escuchar música
Practicar manualidades
Ir a un parque o cualquier lugar al aire libre
Jugar sudokus, rompecabezas, juegos de palabras o tal vez juegos de mesa como monopolio, bingo, ludo y algunos otros
Hacer ejercicio o practicar algún deporte

Efectivamente, esta serie de actividades son geniales herramientas para combatir el aburrimiento. Excelente posts, Saludos!

 2 years ago 

Muchas gracias por tu comentario.Bendiciones.

 2 years ago 

Pastikan Anda telah memberikan suara untuk pengguna lain.

Team verification results :
Post informationStatus
Verified UserYES
Tag #steemexlusiveYES
Plagiarism - FreeYES
Bot - FreeYES
Support #burnsteem25NO
Club Status#club5050
Voting CSI[ ? ] ( 0.00 % self, 10 upvotes, 8 accounts, last 7d )
Score
7

Kind regards,
TIM STEEM INDONESIA

IMG_20221113_042704.png

support @pennsif.witness - @steemwow
Klik disini

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09.

image.png


Curated By - @tocho2

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much for the support.God bless you.

Hoola amiga! Muchas gracias por invitarme a participar! Me encantó tu enfoque hacia el tema del aburrimiento, es cierto que todos en algún momento cedemos a él pero lo importante es saber como enfocarnos de nuevo. Muy buenas sugerencias que has probado para despejar tu mente, ver dibujos animados es una de las cosas que yo misma hago cuando estoy aburrida. Saludos!

 2 years ago 

Holaaa.Gracias por tu visita y tu comentario.Bendiciones para ti y los tuyos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41