You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keeping track of new comments in posts

in Hivemind5 years ago

RE: ORDERING

The community could make a json metadata setting telling front ends (like steempeak) what they'd like the default order of posts to be in a community and then what they'd prefer the default order of comments inside posts to be.

Obviously a user can make a decision to change or make their own default decision if that is a requested feature.

Would you guys be on board for that? @imwatsi @borislavzlatanov

RE: Notifications

Reading your conversations below (a bit late to the conversation)
Do you really want notifications when there are new comments in a community?
I'd be annoyed by that... i'm more about new POSTS in a community.
If i like the particular post I'd maybe be willing to get notifications on that but this seems technically way more complicated. Also when the comment is in response directly to your own comment then we already have a good notification system for that.

cc @asgarth

Sort:  

Thanks for chiming in. Yeah, what you said about ordering sounds pretty good to me.

Regarding new comments, maybe it wasn't clear from the exchange I had with @imwatsi. I was suggesting that we NOT have notifications for new comments, except if a user subscribes to the post. I was further suggesting that it would be very helpful if the user's feed somehow shows that there has been new activity in a given post. An example use case is: I open a post, read it, find it interesting (but don't want to subscribe to it as it's a hassle to click to subscribe on each post I'm interested in, and I don't want a lot of irrelevant notifications), then on the next day there have been more comments on it and I have a way to visually tell, as I'm scrolling through my feed, that there have been X new comments on this post since last time I opened it.

This is similar to scrolling through my feed in Facebook and being shown new comments under posts in a group that I'm subscribed to.

Does this make sense to you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68425.65
ETH 2646.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68