You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The raglan rant - knitting a sweater bottom up

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

First let me tell you the secret of knitting identical arms for sweater: 2aat - knit both at the same time, on the same circular needle.

Regarding the front of the sweater: The fabric seems to be a bit stiff, perhaps a bigger sized needle would have helped. And a lot of sweaters work with short rows at the bust area, which is not difficult per se but easier if you knit a sweater in one piece and from above.

Sort:  

Sigh.... I have read several times about this technique of knitting two sleeves at once, but I am so lazy in trying out new things in knitting. But the next time... I have to do it! (There is this cardigan which is waiting for years in a box, which needs sleeves, it could be a good opportunity to try it out)
And with the front: yes, stiff. Strangely... as I knit so loose. I made tension squares, but I guess the fabric behaves differently in a bigger chunk of knitting. Or the yarn is simply not good (it has a big acrylic part)
And also yes to the top down method, but but... You remember I knit continental combined and you cannot do this in the round. When knitting in the round I must use the „standard“ method and this hurts my fingers very fast. One reason why I seldom knit socks. I like the fit of raglan sweaters, so I wanted to try out how this works in a bottom up construction (although I prefer top down - but mostly for cardigans or in crochet). When knitting in parts I can use combination knitting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29