CONTEST #5- I sow with Steem @samuel20steemCreated with Sketch.

in Amazing Nature4 years ago (edited)

IMG_20201002_152526_013.jpg

I am elated to participate in this contest that was organised by @anasuleidy which entails that we should write on our experience on plants that we planted and the procedure and not forgetting the benefits we have derived from such plants.

The contest tends to highlight the importance of planting and raising plants for our benefit.I really thank my friend @ydelitza for inviting me.

I want to share my experience on how I planted SCENT LEAF. SCENT LEAF is called NCHUANWU in my native Igbo language here in the Eastern part of Nigeria.

At some point last year,I was really in need of the plant(SCENT LEAF).I normally buy from the market anytime I needed to use it.However,I needed to have it around my compound,So I went to the next street.I approached the owner of the SCENT LEAF plant and she permitted me to take a handful of the matured plant.

IMG_20201002_152559_203.jpg
The scentleaf I planted close to my fence

IMG_20201003_085247_660.jpg

IMG_20201003_085216_521.jpg

I transplanted it close to a fence at the back of my compound and continued to water the leaf till maturity.Now,the SCENT LEAF has matured and I am happy that I sowed a plant and has contributed to nature.I have grown my own.

The SCENT LEAF serves me and the whole family the following purposes:
•I use it as spice in jollof rice or yam pepper soup.
•I squiz the leaf and drink the juice for treatment of diarrhea.
•The stem occasionally serve as chewing stick for my dad.
•The scent from the leaf helps to repel mosquitoes(insecticidal effect).

Finally,This contest has helped me to see the importance of planting or sowing and the benefits of certain plants.

Another plant that I sowed is WATERLEAF.It is best sown in rainy season.It grows faster when there is abundance of rain.

I have a portion on my compound where I sowed it.I uprooted it from a neighbouring farm and transplanted it in my compound.

IMG_20201002_152646_048.jpg
The waterleaf that I sowed

The waterleaf has grown and serves as a source of vegetable to me.I love to prepare waterleaf with pumpkin leaf.Water leaf serves me the following purposes:
•Since it's rich in fibre.It helps to improve my bowel movement.
•The juice is a blood tonic.
•Water leaf also aids digestion and helps to control weight.
•Water leaf with pumpkin leaf is my best soup.It makes me to eat more and more 😃😃

I also planted bitterleaf.Bitterleaf soup is a soup that I love so much So I decided to plant over a year ago.

IMG_20201003_092339_942.jpg
Picture of the butterleaf plant

I am happy to have grown my own plants and have savoured its benefits.
Both the scentleaf and waterleaf have benefitted me,my family and neighbours.

Planting also helps to maintain a balance in the ecosystem.It also make us to appreciate nature.
I love sowing and contributing to nature.

I wish to invite my friends @sacra97 and @sohanurrahman to participate in this contest.

Special thanks to @steemitblog @anasuleidy @ydelitza

Sort:  

Thanks for the invitation, I still haven't decided which plant to participate in @samuel20
@samuel20 Felicitaciones /Congratulations

Hi friend!!
I really enjoyed your publication, because they are new plants for me, and it shows that Mother Earth has been so generous to us, she has given us such a diversity of plants for our benefit.
How wonderful you have sown your plants are fabulous.
Thank you for participating in "I sow with Steem"
✿You have entry number 12

@anasuleidy thanks for the compliment.
Do have great weekend.

Thank you @samuel20 for inviting me. Hope I will participate. You wrote a beautiful post.
#onepercent
#affable
#bangladesh

Que interesante los beneficios de cada planta que siembras, eres muy afortunado por tenerlas @samuel20. Disfrútalas y cuídalas

Friend @samuel20 I am happy that you have participated in this contest, it is interesting to see the plants that they grow there, one of them seems to me like one that I saw here called "miona". Now that one with butter leaves caught my attention, it must be interesting to try it. Greetings and success.
#onepercent #venezuela

Thank you @ydelitza for inviting me to the contest.
I have also received my reward from @anasuleidy

Felicidades @samuel20 me contentó mucho que ganaras. Saludos :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80