HARVESTING WILD BAMBOO

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

What an amazing natural resource!

Bamboo has long be used around the world for a variety of applications. Here, you can find patches growing wild along many creeks and streams. Today, I had a need for some, so I stopped to harvest some impressive ones. It's amazing that this "grass" can grow so tall and strong. Personally, I wish I had more growing closer to our homestead, but we'll take what we can get.

I was amazed at how thick the bamboo forest was. A lot of the older canes had died last winter, so many twenty foot tall or better dried, brown stalks were available for harvest without harming the plant. The new green growth from this year was only eight or nine feet tall, so it'll take another year or two for it to reach the heights of its former glory. My goal is to make some arrows and possibly a bow from some of this, and see what else comes to mind with the rest. One cool thing about this particular patch of bamboo is that it is also edible. What an amazing renewable resource! Have you ever walked deep into a patch of bamboo? Here's some photos from earlier.

DEEP IN THE BAMBOO - PHOTOS

Until next time…

Make today special!

Check out our Etsy shop


Sort:  

Good to see you still here! I thought everyone had left, but I stay because I'm stubborn.

Two uses come to mind: first they make nice recorders for the kids to play; second, smashed up into strips I plan to use them in place of rebar.

They also make excellent wind chimes for momma pepper. Since she has to put up with you, it pays to grease the skids once in a while! Works for my bride of 44 years...she puts up with a lot too!

💗🤠💙

🏆 Hi @papa-pepper! You have received 0.05 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @tyrnannoght
Subscribe and increase the reward for @papa-pepper :) | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67402.68
ETH 3481.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65