GECKOS & ALOE - REMINDS ME OF TEXAS

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

Interesting how things like that happen.

Across the southern Untied States, and many other places around the world, nonnative gecko species can be found. I've found both the Common House Gecko & the Mediterranean Gecko in massive numbers across states like Florida, Mississippi, Louisiana and Texas. Besides previously in New Orleans, I've probably spent the most time in Texas. My family has a lot of relatives down there, so spending the night down there is not uncommon for us. At night, these marvelous creatures come out.

The Mediterranean Gecko (Hemidactylus turcicus) is also found in isolated populations across the state of Arkansas. It's not uncommon for me to find them on hotels at night as I travel across the state, especially in densely populated areas. Earlier, I was blessed to see a hatchling indoors, which gave me a brief photo op. This one is barely two inches long, and must have hatched earlier this year. Besides the fact that they eat bugs that come out at night, I like them because they somewhat resemble little alligators or caimans. This one was lightning quick, but I did get a few great photos first. Have you ever seen lizards like this? If so, what kind were they, and where did you see them?

GECKO PHOTOS

Until next time…

Make today special!

Check out our Etsy shop


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60