You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Witnesses, what are your thoughts: Hardfork for automated #burnsteem25 for posts

in Suggestions Club6 months ago

Good evening!

Sorry I didn't get in earlier... I'm really not quite focussed on the matter at the moment...

I'm not taking part in the #burnsteem25 campaign so far. From my economic understanding, this will only lead to a slight increase in the price of Steem in the very short term, but not to lasting stability.

Including the very high rewards would change that. I'm still doing the maths, but that would probably be an upward impulse, at least if this "levy" remains in place in the long term.

However, I can see avoidance strategies that could undermine this. And I'm sticking to my guns: my preferred path would be to forego more and more users in favour of a few very good bloggers who could ensure an exceptional quality of contributions on the platform and thus a unique selling point. This would, of course, contradict the current strategy of recruiting anyone who can stick their face in a camera...

Sort:  

Hi,

my preferred path would be to forego more and more users in favour of a few very good bloggers who could ensure an exceptional quality of contributions on the platform and thus a unique selling point.

This can be achieved now without the need for any change. There is actually nothing stopping anyone from creating something like Medium and leverage the Steem blockchain to do it.

But people need to understand that the utility of the chain goes beyond it social aspect. For example, if we are discussing blogging here because we are on Steemit.com, another platform or project could be discussion games or any service that can be built on Steem. It can be an ecommerce, a game, and any other business model that can take advantage of the technology that Steem is offering. This is why we need to be careful to not undermine the utility of the blockchain when thinking and applying future changes.

I understand that you don't see the steem in isolation, but as part of an ecosystem. But isn't this only as stable as its individual components...?

Thank you @weisser-rabe for your opinion, I see the reply of @symbionts and also agree we are on Steem blockchain and that normally can offer much but it is not used for anything except Blogging, unfortunately. I do not believe that doing "burnsteem" by some individuals who are doing that in order to get better Upvote rather than trying to save Steem, they will not be able to fix it it is like a drop in ocean.

I hope that we will have some outcome of the discussion, obviously there are many good thoughts in this comment chain.

I really appreciate your participants and sharing your thoughts, which is very valuable to know. Using this chance, wanted to wish you Happy New 2024!

The same for you! A good start in the New Year!

I agree with you but I have an additional suggestion!

Where can we read about it...? ;-))

Scroll down a bit!

 6 months ago 

my preferred path would be to forego more and more users in favour of a few very good bloggers who could ensure an exceptional quality of contributions on the platform and thus a unique selling point.

As I described in the Reflections section, here, this is one tentative conclusion that I drew from reading Richard Dawkins' coverage of the Iterated Prisoner's Dilemma in The Selfish Gene.

Hi, with due respect. You used to support our witness but suddenly you have removed the vote from us. We apologize for any kinds of wrongness.

Please support us with your witness vote. It will be much help for us. 🙏
https://steemitwallet.com/~witnesses

 5 months ago 

I don't remember why. I unvoted a couple witnesses who were disabled or had stale feeds, not sure if yours was included in that, or maybe I just clicked the wrong button by accident. I see that your witness is active and your feed is up to date now, so I'll revote you.

Thank you so much for your kindness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62758.86
ETH 3465.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49