You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Separate Basic Income Posts?

in Suggestions Club4 months ago (edited)

This came up in comments of @o1eh's post, too. Another idea that I like is the idea of an interest-only account from @michelangelo3, but unfortunately I think that would require blockchain code changes, so probably not likely to be implemented quickly.

A quick way to approximate interest-only accounts would be to start paying interest on SBDs in savings. I believe the witnesses could do that with a simple parameter change. Since we don't seem to care about SBDs having lost their peg, that might be worth considering... Although, the problem is (if I understand correctly), it would raise the inflation rate of Steem's virtual supply. Pro: more daily author/curation rewards; Con: dilution of people's existing stakes.

Back to the topic of your post, I'm not opposed to it as a "lesser of evils" sort of thing. Ideally, I'd like to see people stop polluting the blockchain, but I think the 2nd best choice is what you suggest, partitioning the pollution away from the creative content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62939.93
ETH 3116.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89