You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unexploited Opportunity: Post Promotion

in Suggestions Club6 days ago

I agree with you that the possibility of post promotion is neglected too much. But you also mentioned the reason: You can't find the posts unless you actively enter the URL in the address bar. That's a shortcoming and nobody will pay for it.

The simple method is easy ;-) and could be implemented immediately by the gorilla. :-D

However, I prefer the complicated method. We already know this from other platforms. However, the advertising is almost "personalised". Here it would be the same for everyone and would only depend on the amount the promoter is willing to pay.

This could also be integrated into the feed...
... but now comes the snag:
The feed query at Hivemind already takes too long. The promoted posts could extend this even further. However, I could imagine that these could be integrated into the database in a suitable way. As long as it's only a few posts, this shouldn't be a major factor.
Placing the promotions between the feed posts might be a little more complex. This will also cost a little more processing time.

Overall, I find this very interesting. Especially as the promotion would then really deserve its name.
I wanted to work on the trending score after my holiday anyway... and other minimal things in Hivemind... I'll take the point on board :-)

Sort:  
 6 days ago 

The simple method is easy ;-) and could be implemented immediately by the gorilla. :-D

But...

I prefer the complicated method.

Me too.

There appear to be some functions within the code already which would make it more user friendly:

  • Get special posts from the store
  • Mark seen featured posts
  • Mark seen promoted posts
  • Mark all featured posts as seen
  • Mark all promoted posts as seen.

Whilst these seem to exist, it doesn't look they're used anywhere (and rely upon localStorage to work). I don't know for certain though.

It could be an interesting idea at some point.

I wanted to work on the trending score after my holiday anyway

I'm looking forward to this 🙂

There appear to be some functions within the code

I assume you mean in the frontend code?
That's interesting! I didn't know that. Maybe we'll have to discuss it once I've found out a bit more about it in Hivemind.

I'm looking forward to this 🙂

Me too :-)

 5 days ago 

I prefer the complicated method

Yes, definitely a more complicated method would be more effective.

The feed query at Hivemind already takes too long.

Since I don't understand this, do you think there are opportunities for optimization here? I mean, if Steemit becomes a world-famous platform, it won't be good if requests take hours to process.

I'll take the point on board :-)

Wow, that's great 😃

if Steemit becomes a world-famous platform, it won't be good if requests take hours to process.

Definitely! :-)
We have already discussed this in the witness channel. The database is very outdated and urgently needs to be updated. In preparation, I measured the query time of many methods and parameter combinations. We can use this to measure the improvements. Unfortunately, it is not possible to say whether and in what time improvements are achievable...

 3 days ago 

Thank you. I also want to ask you to answer one of my questions in Discord 🙂.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45