You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Debates

We are more or less on the same page.

No doubt, burning is a great way to strengthen the coin. I'm not sure but I think I read somewhere Tron did major burning (11 bn) and we all saw TRX hitting ATH a few months ago which was 0.14 USD.

I think steem should be burned but by big accounts to see a significant change. Small accounts already struggle with low rewards due to clubs and then the added pressure of burning. Low rewards directly affect the quality of content. People stop putting in the effort eventually.

(In the past, I pointed out the funds resting in steemitblog for burning. I got all eyes on me for sharing these treacherous thoughts. I agree, maybe there's a reason, they are left untouched. It's just an example, surely there are other big sources.)

It's good to see there is no Team Burn or Newcomers now which means the pressure is off. It was also great to see community curators getting some flexibility now.

I'm not against any rules, just don't want them to be imposed. It's true that we have a free choice of not following steemitblog but naturally, nobody denies a good payout, so intentionally or unintentionally, rules set the wrong trends.

Sort:  
 3 months ago 

I think steem should be burned but by big accounts to see a significant change.

This is an unattainable utopia 🙂.

In order for people to burn STEEM, some additional incentives are needed. The prospect that one day the price of the token will skyrocket is not enough. It should be profitable for them to burn now. It's complicated.

Low rewards directly affect the quality of content.

Yes, quite often I've seen people lose motivation because "SC01 hasn't voted for me in a long time". SC01 will never be enough for everyone.

Or a fixed percentage from all users' rewards can be burned automatically... if it doesn't require a hardfork.

 3 months ago 

There was also a discussion about this and if you look at the comments, you will see how aggressively such an initiative was received.

Oh yes.. I had a feeling that this had been discussed before but I couldn't recall more details even though I have also commented on that post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64261.31
ETH 2787.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66