The Debate (no.17); Adulthood is better than Childhood

in Steem Fashion&Style3 months ago

There’s a popular saying here in Nigeria that adulthood na scam.

Hello fellow steemians. Hope we're doing okay.
I want to thank @sahmie for organising this beautiful contest. This is not just an interesting topic, but logical that would get one thinking .

I don’t buy this idea about adulthood, childhood is a beautiful period of one’s life, same as adulthood. I remember when I was still very little, I had many things given to me even without working for it.

The kinds of food I ate, the clothes I wore and friends I kept were all determined by my parents. Everything almost, was a decision made by my family on my behalf. Some of it I enjoyed, but some I wished I could just say no to them.

children-1822704_1280~2.jpg
Source

Growing up, I became a bit more responsible for my actions, the company of friends I kept, the clothes I wore were mostly gotten by me, even the styles and the choice of school I wanted to go to. This became my newfound freedom from being a baby. I had partially become independent, and I didn’t plan on going back to childhood anytime soon.

Along the line, I realized, even if I was not the one providing for the whole family, I had some responsibilities that were becoming too much for me.

children-817365_1280~2.jpg
Source

Being alone in some places without your parents or a guardian leaves you to make your own choices, and that requires wisdom, knowledge and discernment. I had to be nice to people, and know which set of friends were going to take me forward or backward.

please-2697951_1280.jpg
Source

Then looking about my eldest brother who is now totally independent, I wonder if one really has to work so hard to give his family a life—a good kind of life.

He steps out early in the morning to work, and returns home late looking tired, but he must go through all these to be a responsible adult. This is one part of adulthood that gets a number of young people scared.

On the other hand, a successful and responsible adult would wish adulthood came a bit earlier in life because of the good things of life that come their way. It may also be that they have been able to influence lives, help hone skills and a lot more. Some who become successful in life might’ve poverty stricken in their childhood days, thus, hating childhood.

wedding-4780256_1280.jpg
Source

Some traumatised people were abused during their childhood days because they couldn’t speak up, or do anything to leave where they were abused because they had nothing to do so.
But just like adulthood comes with a fresh air of freedom, it must not be abused.

With these few points, though no one will escape childhood to adulthood, adulthood affords us more liberty than childhood.

Would like to invite @bela90, @emmyjnr and @saintkelvin17 to participate in this contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69034.81
ETH 3815.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50