My success story on steemit

in Steem Fashion&Style7 months ago

Seeing the title “success stories on Steemit”, I can’t really tell if I’m qualified enough to do the contest because my journey so far on Steemit has been like a roller coaster. I joined steemit back in 2017, then Ponzi was at its peak in Nigeria. Due to so many frustrations from Ponzi schemes, our admin @eurogee in our Ponzi group said he will do all he can to make sure we recover all our money back that we should give him little time, that he’s onto something.


After a month time, he came up with steemit to the group. A lot of us were skeptical at first because we found it hard to believe that just knowing how to “read and write” will earn us money. We’d this notion in our head that somewhere along the line, they will ask us to pay money to get more money due to our Ponzi mindset. So many backed out and about 40+ of us decided to give it a try and that was when my journey on Steemit began. We called ourselves @euronation. Funny enough our WhatsApp group still exist till now.

173F2890-D353-4E9D-9F46-221BD331123B.jpeg


All of us were novice including our boss who introduced us to the group. He only had very little knowledge about the platform. For a lot of us, steemit was our first dealings with cryptocurrency. In the bid of gaining extra money, we thought we could cheat the system, we’d no idea, what was install of us. Some of us tried by creating multiple accounts, some formed a separate group to be voting each other, i on the other hand thought I could do copy and paste like it is on Facebook just to make some bucks.


All our plans to game the system, failed woefully. I was almost flagged by a bot because of plagiarism. We didn’t think it was going to be this difficult. Out of 40+ that joined, we were now only 21 of us that were still active. I wouldn’t say I was too active because I only posted just once in a week. Gradually, we started to learn some few things on our own and started sharing among ourselves in the group.


One thing that really helped us then was relating with steemians on discord. Putting ourselves out there and making our presence felt. We tried as much as possible to join so many steemit groups on discord channels. That relationship we built with those ahead of us exposed us to a lot things we never knew. Our writings improved, some formed a niche out of their post, in my own case I joined a powerful group then called @sndbox. They were like steemcurator 1 and 2 of today.


That was the beginning of my success stories on Steemit. I even got to know more great steemians like @ejemai, @gbenga and the best of them all was @surpassinggoogle, he helped a lot of us newbies. Later on I found out about @steemhunt. They were another set of people who I can’t ignore in my success story. Each time we hunt for bugs or try to introduce new stuffs on the steemit interface, our post was voted massively. I almost changed my name to “hunter samson” because I was good at it.


I can’t skip out @originalworks as well in my success story. Joining their contest exposed me to the world of blockchain. My knowledge of blockchain became very vast. I had many free cryptocurrency by participating in their contest.


I later got an offline job and I wasn’t too serious again on Steemit because the job took a lot of my time and if there’s one thing about steemit, if you stop posting for a long time it affects your visibility on the platform. The few times I visited, I noticed there was an underlying problem on Steemit. Only to visit again to find out that a lot of steemians have moved to “hive”. I wasn’t cut out for that, starting again after what I’ve suffered on Steemit.


That was what brought about my powering down and selling off all my steem and sbd. I thought I was done with steemit. Only to find myself coming back again after 5years again to start all over. I got a new job last year, where I had a lot of free time on my hand. I ventured into several online training just to keep myself busy and when the training was all over, I had no laptop to practice with, I became idol again.


That was when the idea of Steemit jump into my head again. Rather than just being idol at work, steemit was a great plan and now that A. I like chatgpt now exist, things will be far easier, I won’t have to stress my brain.


2D19BEA3-13CF-43EB-8637-CCB84411A3D8.jpeg

I returned September last year and did my reintroduction post and that was were I was discovered by @weisser-rabe and till now she has been of great support to me. After that post, the next 3 post I did was with A.I. I wasn’t getting any single upvotes but I didn’t bother because I know what i suffered back in the days before someone will even bother to upvote your post.


It was on my 3rd post, I notice a mod telling me not to use A. I again or else I’ll be flagged. I was shocked at that comment. My first comment I ever received and I was been threatened. I now told the “MoD”, I just returned to steemit after a long time and the criteria I know for getting flagged back then was for plagiarism. The mod now introduced me to @bossj23. Bossj now put me through in everything, modifications and improvements that has been going on so far since I left. The “dos and the don’t” of the platform. @bossj23 became my new boss and he has been instrumental in my success story.


At first, I wanted to run again when I heard that A. I was against the rules of the system but seeing that things have really changed a lot and things have been put in place to support people with upvote, it kept me going. I wasn’t privileged to use the “newcomer” tag since I’m an old timer but so far it has been going so well.


I’ve always known the power of having high steem power and that’s why I’ve been powering up all my steem to get to 1k sp at least before cashing out and I know it will be done by this time next month, I would have reached 1k.


So far, that has been my success journey since I joined steemit 2017.


I will also love to invite @emmy01 @mariami @zekanem to the contest hosted by @drhira

Sort:  

Your story was interesting to read. I felt the same way, I also took a break. I invested too much time and somehow I didn't enjoy it anymore, so I did less at first and then stopped completely for 3 months. A bit of distance did me good, but without Blockchain I was missing something. And - as you can see, I'm now active again, but only as much as I enjoy it.

So everyone has their own story. And I think it's the good times and the not-so-good times that connect us all.

 7 months ago 

Seriously, when people that came in 2021 tell me there story how they suffered, I’ll smile because Steemit has made me realize that nothing good come easy… you have to work out your ass till you get to your comfort zone…

Sometimes, I do regret why I left steemit… I try to tell some of my old group members that was with me to come back, that steemit is not as hard as it use to be before… but the fear of starting all over again considering their experience years ago, is holding them back!!

Good day friend, just like you when I saw the title of this contest I was like, am I really qualified right about this, how long have I stayed here?, What have I achieved so far?, Do I really have a story to tell?, I felt like I had nothing to write but looking back at the challenges faced when I joined steemit I knew I had a lot to write, which I will be dropping it soon. Just like you, at my first introduction to steam it I was like, is it really going to last?, Have another set of online scammers come again to deceive us. Every step I took was followed by different questions, I had relentful effort, I wasn't even serious, it took me time to sign up, my friend @bossj23 went far to becoming a moderator, I saw the evidence to prove that steemit was real. Did I came back like a prodigal son. He knows sometimes I regret that I joined this late, but I still believe that will all make it here. Today my greatest wishes to become known or even a moderator in the platform and I believe all these will come true. Good luck on the contest.

 7 months ago 

Yea… is just a matter of time, d evidence will show, is just for to keep pressing on..

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60352.73
ETH 2410.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44