"My Traditional/Cultural Attire "

in Steem Fashion&Stylelast year

Hello, dear Steemians, greetings to you, and welcome to my post today. I am so happy for your stopping by, just as I am delighted to take part in the contest that is organized by @simonnwigwe in the Steem Fashion&Style Community, about which I am here to talk about my traditional and cultural attire.


What is the name of your cultural attire, and how often do you wear it?

I am from a local government in Cross River State called Bekwarra, which is located in the northern part of the state. The Bekwarra people are best known for their traditional or cultural attire, hospitality, and kindness to visitors, despite where they are coming from.

Having introduced my tribe to you, the name of my traditional or cultural attire is "Ask Ebi," which is also known as the "Isiagu style" in some cultures.

Ask Ebi/Isiagu style is a cultural attire that is mostly put on for an occasion or any event like Thanksgiving, a traditional wedding, a burial, etc, that requires you and your crew (friends) to sew the native wear into a uniform.

DSC_9540.JPGIMG20220527141829.jpg

From the image above, you can see two different kinds of my cultural attire at the time I went to an occasion. I sew it for a purpose, just as I have earlier said. I only wear Ask Ebi whenever I am going to a traditional function, church, or ceremonial activities. Sometimes I wear it once a month.


List and explain the activities for which you use this attire.

Just as I have earlier said, I don't usually wear traditional clothes, except for some specific activities for which I do use traditional attire. Below are some of the activities that i have used them for.

Thanksgiving Service: During my days with the National Youth Service Corps, I used these traditional attires for Sunday services and Thanksgiving services, where I and my colleagues dressed in the same attire. You can all see a pictures of how I and my colleagues were flexing with traditional attires.

Birthday Picture: This was my second traditional outfit, and the one that I used for one of my birthday pictures. Although I am not a fan of traditional attire, I was advised to wear it by my friend, which I did.

Also, due to how good the attire makes me look, I sometimes wear it to church activities.
IMG20221218102340.jpg


Do you consider your traditional attire special, and how much does it cost? Give the price in STEEM and its equivalent in your local currency.

Yes, I do consider my traditional attire special because of how high-quality the material is, despite how it was sewed by the tailor who designed it for me; I do consider it special, which is the main reason I wear it on special occasions.

The price of traditional attire depends on the quality of the material and the tailor who will sew it for you. Although you can buy already-made traditional attire, In my own case, after buying the material, I took it to a tailor, who then sewed them for me, and each has its own price difference.

There are some tailors that charge very high prices for sewing traditional attire. However, the estimated cost is shown below.

Ask Ebi/Isiagu style

Cost of Purchasing Materials (Plan Material)Price in NairaPrice in Steem
Ask Ebi/Isiagu style (plan materials)3,000 NGN and above26.3 STEEM
Cost of Sewing5,000 NGN and Above44.2 STEEM
Buying of complete sewing9,000 NGN and above79.4 STEEM

Note that the cost of buying materials and sewing them varies based on the location of the person. Those in the city may find it very expensive, whereas those in a village can get their materials at a much cheaper price.


Conclusion:

Traditional attire is clothing that we often wear when attending traditional or cultural functions, occasions, or events. It is basically put on by the crew of the celebrant. I am inviting @preye2, @ebeke, and @yakspeace.

Sort:  
 last year 

@josepha Thank you for sharing your perspective on traditional attire. It sounds like the quality of the material and the skill of the tailor are important factors in determining the value of the attire. The cost can vary widely depending on these factors, as well as other factors such as the complexity of the design and the time it takes to create the attire. In general, it is important to do your research and shop around to find the best value for your money. It may also be helpful to compare prices from different tailors or shops to get a sense of the range of costs that are available.

 last year 

Thank you for your sweet words.

 last year 

You're welcome brother

 last year 

TEAM MILLIONAIRE

Congratulations, your comment has been successfully curated by @kouba01 at 10%.

 last year 

Thanks You so Much 🥰🥰🥰 @kouba01 And @steemcurator03 I'm so happy 😊💞💞

Loading...
 last year 
Congratulations!
This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @karianaporras

TEAM 4 CURATORS

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last year 

TEAM MILLIONAIRE

Your post has been successfully curated by @kouba01 at 45%.

Thank you for your committed efforts, we urge you to do more and keep posting high quality contests for a chance to earn valuable upvotes from our team of curators.

 last year 

Thank you so much @kouba01 for your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65540.15
ETH 3522.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48