The Debate (no.30); Physical book is a better format for reading and retaining information than E-books

book-1835799_1280.jpg
Pixabay

Good morning my fellow steemian, trust your day is going, welcome to another week of contest, well this particular contest has caught my attention and thanks to steem fashion and style community for bringing up such a great topic.

In today's contest, I will be sharing my view on why physical book is a better format than E-book. Before I proceed, I want to let us know that both are good and the height of retaining information through the two format may differ for various peoples, afterall, one can still gain knowledge from reading from either of it, but my concern just for this contest is choosing the best format for retaining information.

Definition of both format

  • Physical book; These are material which contain various kinds of information and it is always in printed paper where one could touch and feel.

  • E-book; E-book simply means electronic book, which are books that can be accessible through the use of mobile device, laptop or computer.

The one I prefer and why?

As a student, I have engage in reading both e-book and physical books and I must say, physical book helped me more better especially if studying to retain some information and a long time.

Why I choose physical book

Physical book make it faster to cover up a subject, when reading physical book, it helps you to highlight important point and even write down important key forming a short note for that topic that will assist you to always remember what you have read.

Which format helps you focus better and remember what you read?

boy-5731001_1280.jpg
Pixabay

Reading physical book helps me to focus a lot, because I will center more attention just to what I'm reading, and by this effective reading, I create a chance to always remember what I read, and I could easily refer to my books again in case I'm trying to forget anything cause it is normal to forget few things, having learn about forgetting curve, this taught me that after days to weeks, month and year, you will slowly forget what you read, if you don't look at it at all, so after reading and also making up note for what I read, I will not go to the main subject topic bit I will always make reference to that point I made, with this, I get to always remember for a longer period of time.

The advantages and disadvantages of both types
PHYSICAL BOOK
AdvantagesDisadvantages
1) Easy reading which require line to line reading1) It becomes harder to carry it around everywhere, especially to other occasions like wedding and so on.
2) You can make photocopies, certainly for one who cannot take care of his/her books2) when lost, you cannot retrieve it especially if it was written by you, as this will cost you time to rewrite.
E-BOOK
AdvantagesDisadvantages
1) Easy access to your book at anytime and anywhere1) Could be lost at anytime, when you lost your device or when it is formatted
2) Could help you explore more when reading, like browsing out some words2) Fixing your eyes on the screen for too long can lead to another effect like could cause damages.
Which format helps you avoid distractions while reading and how?

Reading physical books helps me avoid distraction while reading, for instance if you are using E-book, distraction may come, important notifications concerning urgent issue can be form of distraction, which cause you to leave what you were reading to attain to it, so it is much easier to avoid distraction while reading physical books as nothing will seize your attention, especially if you are reading in a safe space with no mobile devices that could be part of distraction.

Which is better for the environment

girl-1641215_1280.jpg
Pixabay

After all said, in my own opinion, I feel like physical book is more better for the environment, I know still that our environment today is evolving to a digital era, but checking the impact of intensive studying when there was no e-book, those generation did far better, in this generation today, the media has caused a lot of distraction, people no longer take their time read and know and this is a major concern we should talk about.

I would love to invite @imohmitch @bossj23 @jewel005 to take part in this contest. I still remain @eddiemalachy and welcome to my blog.

Sort:  
Loading...
 24 days ago 

Hi @eddiemalachy

You have to add a little description about your post on Twitter. You are doing good as sharing your content on Twitter but just add 2 to 3 lines description about your post while promoting your post on Twitter or just add your post title there with post link & 2 to 3 specific tags. Like screenshot given below.

Screenshot_20240607-174843.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63026.81
ETH 3462.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51