SFS CONTEST, picture of the day

in Steem Fashion&Style9 days ago (edited)

Hello beloved steemians! I am super excited about participating in this challenge! You know, the Bible says that there is power in our words! This challenge has given me the opportunity to travel down memory lane to when I was as young as 9 years old!

IMG_20240704_145330424.jpg

I am that child that makes my parents very proud and it didn't start today! Every Nigerian parent, especially the easterners derive so much pride when their children come first, second or third in their class after the terms assessment and examination!

In most families like my own, your reward is the head of the chicken which you will eat with so much pride as a reward for your hard work for that term! Since I was virtually the only one in my family that was getting the head of the chicken, my father had so much expectations of me and just couldn't wait until I become an adult

IMG_20240704_142529146.jpg

So one of those days, my uncle came around and my Dad was bragging about my result; so my uncle said this one may be a lawyer, my dad said no, I think I prefer her to be a Doctor; so they called me to ask for my opinion, to everyone's greatest shock, I said I would be a tailor! I saw the look of shock in everyone's face and I said ok! I will be a teacher! We all laughed it out and that was it.

My Dad just kept channeling my interest to science and I ended up studying Nutrition and dietetics in the Nigerian University I schooled in ! My Dad was not disappointed because at the end of the day, it was a medical course!

Immediately after graduation, I stopped getting pocket money from home, and knowing that I needed money to survive, I sought for a skill to acquire and of all skills, all that came to my mind was tailoring! While I was waiting for my NYSC, I attended a tailoring institute and acquired the skill

IMG_20240704_135403832.jpg

Today I am not just a tailor, but I am a fashion instructor that train other people to become fashion designers! My students are preparing for the graduation from our fashion school and I am a proud teacher! Seeing my students make wedding gowns and luxury dresses that will set them up financially for life gives me so much fulfillment!

IMG_20240704_134247332.jpg

Sometimes what people see as success is not really what it is! As prestigious as it Is to be a lawyer or a doctor, I derive much more pleasure in not just making people look exceptionally gorgeous with my skill, but also training people to do exactly what I do!

The better part of it is that, although I have my licence to practice as a health practitioner which is really making my Dad a proud father, I am a tailor and a teacher which is a fulfillment of my childhood desire! Although it wasn't planned but I guess that everything in life worked together to make me have just that!

This goes ahead to show just how much power those words I said as a child has! As I write this, I am now sure that with my words, I can also speak into my next phase in life and see just that unfold!

This challenge indeed has put my mind in the right place!

I invite @jovita, @ruthjoe, @alexanderpeace to join this challenge

Sort:  
 9 days ago 

Greetings my dear friend! Thank you for being part of the community and participating in our community, sharing your quality content with us.


CriteriaStatus
Status ClubNewcomer
#Steemexclusive
Plagiarism Free
AI Content Free
Bot Free
Voting CSI[ ? ] ( 0.00 % self, 0 upvotes, 0 accounts, last 7d )
Support #burnsteem25NO
Verification date:04-07-2024

  • Admins/Mods Observations
  • Please promote your post on X social media platforms. promote with main tag #steemit #steem $steem .

Thank you very much! I'm quite new and not very conversant with that! I'm still trying to figure it out as soon as I do, it will be done

image.png
CONGRATULATIONS!!

This post has been upvoted - Steem's Angels with @steemcurator09/ Curated by: @ruthjoe

Thank you for your support!

Indeed you really deserve to be happy, I can truly say that you are not a lazy type, some people may have fold their hands and sit down waiting for a white collar job as a graduate but your decision for learning handwork is really a good one, your parents must be proud of you.
Thanks for sharing with us the thoughtful write up, best regards.

image.png
CONGRATULATIONS!!

This post has been upvoted - Steem's Angels with @steemcurator09/ Curated by: @ruthjoe

Thank you so very much!

Thank you very much

Yes, I can see you are a great designer, Nice..

Thank you very much

image.png
CONGRATULATIONS!!

This post has been upvoted - Steem's Angels with @steemcurator09/ Curated by: @ruthjoe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43