The Frozen Grind

in Inner Blocks5 years ago

w4.jpg

I feel very blessed that I am able to work in a shop. It may not sound like anything amazing to most people, but I have don't alot of work outside under a tree. Now that I am inside, with no wind, and proper lighting..I am definitely taking advantage of it.

When I first arrived on the farm here in Northern Michigan we didn't have much. We are nomads, and we live pretty minimally. That included my tools. Over a bit of time I started to add what I needed to get things done, and that includes most of the things that I would need to make knives.

The shop where I work was stacked up waste deep in stuff. There was stuff everywhere and not much order at all. The previous farm hand didn't seem to be invested in the idea of improving, but just maintaining. I am sure that work got done in the overly full shop, but maybe it is just me...I like order.

I spent many hours building, sorting, organizing, clearing, cleaning, and adding order to the shop. I even added many lights. Originally there were only three lights in there, and now there are about twelve! I can see everything!!! Since I use LED bulbs I am able to run all of those lights and barely use the same amount of energy as the three previously.

I am really excited to see what I can do here. I think that I may need to get some sort of heater in there so I can break the chill in the real dead of winter. For now, I will just bundle up and get some things done!

Be well
~The Yeti

Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/zyqFjJ3

https://steemit.com/@freedompoint

https://twitter.com/the_alpha_yeti

https://www.instagram.com/thealphayeti/

FPgif.gif

Sort:  

I like the get things done attitude but despite you being a Yeti, I think some warmth might be welcome. 🤣 Now...Back to work! (Have a good weekend.)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey thanks! It is nice that I can't feel the wind! Big things to come! The 5160 steel should be ready for me to start on Sunday.

Only time I want to feel the wind is riding motorbikes...

You say ready. You have to do something to it prior to working it?

Yes. The science of it is on the microscopic level it has to do with the size of the grains. There is a process called annealing which makes the grains larger and will soften the steel. So you have to heat it and then let it cool very slowly. So it is out in the shop still cooling in woodash.

Ah ok. I anneal my brass before reloading. Extends the life of the case. I'm looking forward to seeing what you create.

Working outdoors in winter can suck. I remember replacing the engine in a 1976 Pontiac Grand Prix in February in Anchorage, and melting a pit underneath it with my body heat deep enough that I had to kneel to do the motor mounts.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54