You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Wallet Tips

in Steemit Earning Tip4 years ago

I think it is suppose to be an improvement over steem connect, but I need to learn more about it's vulnerabilities before I start using it. I agree with your concern about supplying my keys. I like the security theme of Steem and Steemit to use my posting Key the most and my other keys very rarely.

Sort:  

In fact, steem slightly increased its security level a couple of HFs ago, preventing us from logging in with the master or active key, if not required.
I mean, if you try to log into your blog and put the active key in, you won't be able to log in.

That is important. Although in a way it reveals that Steem knows all our keys. What do you think?

I agree with you completely. The last HardFork increased security. It was easy to overuse the Master Password as your only password for multiple types of signings. But at significant risk of account loss before that HardFork.

There was a lot of speculation about this (account loss) when the snapshot for Hive occurred.
Many recommended changing the keys, I did not.
I don't know how real this supposed risk could have been.

I was not aware of any risk associated with the snap shot preceding the HardFork. I will look into it.

In my opinion, this was only part of the media discredit war that occurred back then. Both sides tried to discredit themselves. Within everything that happened, this rumor emerged.
I did not change my passwords.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49