A VISIT TO MY FARM TO UPROOT MY CASSAVA FOR TAPIOCA/ CASSAVA FLAKES|| LEARN HOW YOU CAN PRESERVE YOUR CASSAVA STEMS DURING DRY SEASON|| 10% TO @STEEMFARM-MARKET

in SteemFarm-Market2 years ago

IMG_20220207_101643_191.jpg

Hello dear steemfarm-market members, I am happy to be here to make my very first publication here. Hope I am welcomed?.

I want to share with you all how I visited my farm to uproot my cassava and thus see how the farm is doing. I understand the purpose of this community and that is why I really fit in here because I have a farm of my own.

Having a farm and having crops in it is a thing of joy. Being able to grow the food I eat is just amazing considering how hard it is to make ends meet. Food items are skyrocketing in prizes in the market day by day. I really pity the families with many mouths to feed.

Just last year, I am my family decided to join the farmers rank by planting few crops in our farm of a little above 100 by 50 square meters which we bought in 2020. It was not easy but we had to tighten our belts to be able to get that land. We plan building on it so that we can stop paying rent. We are yet to raise the money for that but for the moment, we decided to be farming on it.

We planted cassava, pumpkin and maize on it during farming season last year. Maize 🌽🌽🌽 and pumpkin has finished while we have cassava left.

We have harvested cassava about 3 times from that same farm which we used for tapioca. Tapioca is cassava flex. Don't worry, just keep reading and you will understand.

Our biggest plan now is to harvest the cassava in large quantities so that we can convert is to garri which is a major staple food in Nigeria. An average Nigeria likes Garri with delicious soup like the one on the picture below
32FTXiZsHoAW6noHJDhrg3W8ZKHVFSsLYM859aTDCF8iErZm4TQDNRd3t4CEdTo8gYG84JL96ymHcRq1itWZhrmrkPzqxki84cmvLNvkZ6T7D1bM77G6RAV9Q7kLuECuWzDjhEogysbQdJvr.jpeg

For my family, we like taking it once a day and that is usually taken as lunch. It is a heavy food that is why we prefer it as lunch. But it doesn't mean we can't take it at other times. We can consume a custard bucket of Garry which is 4kg in 4 days at most and each bucket costs 5 steem at current price. Sometimes it can be higher and not lesser because nothing returns to normal price after increasing in price no matter what must have induced the price hike.

So it will be great if we produce our own garri by ourselves no matter the stress. I can't wait to do that. Hence, while we are waiting for the first rain to drop to soften the ground before harvesting the cassava in large quantities, we have been going to the farm to harvest a little for the cassava flakes.

So, yesterday, I visited the farm along with my husband, @benton3.

IMG_20220207_100725_058.jpgIMG_20220207_095643_141.jpg

The ground is very strong thereby making it difficult for us to uproot easily but we managed to do so. But the yield is so encouraging as you can see from the pictures below 👇👇

IMG_20220207_102449_764.jpgIMG_20220207_102157_699.jpg
IMG_20220207_101643_191.jpgIMG_20220207_101631_283.jpg
IMG_20220207_100818_120.jpg

But I must confess that @benton3 knows very well how to uproot cassava and it will not break on the ground. He will observe the movement of the cassava as it breaks the ground. He will dig out the cassava before drawing it out. I learned from him. So when he gave me the opportunity to pool out one, wow 😲😲😲, it was amazing but wait, one broke. Hahahah!

When we gathered the much we wanted, we peeled it there in the farm before heading home

IMG_20220207_104942_921.jpgIMG_20220207_104940_410.jpgIMG_20220207_104938_070.jpg

You can watch the videos below 👇👇 to see me peeling the cassava

HAVE YOU THOUGHT OF HOW YOU CAN PRESERVE YOUR CASSAVA STEMS DURING DRY SEASON FOR REPLANTING? HERE IS A TIP THAT HAS WORKED FOR SEVERAL PEOPLE

During planting season, most farmers buy cassava stems before they can plant. While this may be done for several reasons, one of the reasons could be that the farmer couldn't preserve his or her own stems.

If you have a farm and you happen to uproot the cassava during dry season, you can preserve the stems by doing this simple thing below 👇👇👇👇👇

As we were harvesting our cassava, what we were doing was to put back the stem in the group after taking the tubers. This will help keep it alive till the first rain or thereabout. It is a simple practice which can help all farmers. I learned this from @benton3 too.

I took some pictures of my neighbors pepper 🌶️🌶️, and pumpkin seeds as you can see below 👇👇👇

IMG_20220207_105745_124.jpgIMG_20220207_105738_914.jpg

PREPARING THE CASSAVA FLAKES

At home, the peeled cassava were washed and cooked till a little tender. Then we sliced it as you can see in the pictures below

IMG_20220207_172008_849.jpg

IMG_20220207_145059_842.jpg

After slicing them, I washed them first before soaking them overnight. Then in the morning, I washed them again before they were ready for consumption. You can eat it that way with groundnuts, coconut or palm karnel. Or you can make it into African salad. Some times, you can just use palm oil, onions, salt and crayfish to fry it a little and eat. It is usually very delicious and can serve as food.

Growing your food yourself has a lot of benefits. I am glad that we were able to decide to plant last year. Now we are reaping the benefits. If you have a land, why not try to plant crops this year? You will thank me later. About all, I am grateful to the Almighty God Jehovah who made the crops grow.

Cc: @oppongk

This is my introductorypost here

Sort:  

Great job!

Your high-quality post has been upvoted by the Lifestyle curator team managed by @papi.mati. We enjoyed reading it a lot.

Follow @steemitblog to update the latest information about Steemit.

Thank you so much @papi.mati for visiting my post with SC06, I appreciate

Bir çiftliğinizin olması çok güzel bereketli hasadınız olsun. Çevremdeki bir çok kişi tarla alıp yiyeceklerini ekip hayvan yetiştiriyorlar. Toprakla uğraşmak yorucu ama iyi geliyor. ✌️😍

Am glad to hear that many people around you buy farm and cultivate. Farming is good. Thank you for reading through my post. I appreciate

This the appropriate place and I knew it was a mistake from the network. Nice job ma and that is Oron people enjoy it especially with groundnut. Your energy is full force ma.

I agree with the fact that owning a farm by your self saves you from all the stress of having to bare with the frequent spike in prices. But I must also add that without determination and hard work maintaining you farm is not as easy as it looks; by the look of things you and your husband are doing a great job.

So when he gave me the opportunity to pool out one, wow 😲😲😲, it was amazing but wait, one broke. Hahahah!

I guess its never easy to beat a master in the game right hahaha.

I had an awesome time seating here and touring your farm from home and I hope you still have a lot of places to show us.

Thanks for sharing.

I feel very happy reading your comment dear @rubilu123.

The master is always better. I am glad I got the chance to learn from him. Thank you for touring my farm from home. You will surely learn more. This one is just a city farm. Mist of the farm lands are in the village

This is really good practice to have your own farm to supplement the family. Over here in Ghana, this season is the right season to keep cassava flakes for tapioca since since first rain normally spoil the cassava.

I am very excited to see you posting through our Community. Thanks so much!

Thank you for reading through. Ghanaians know about tapioca? Wow 😲😲😲, how do they produce their own tapioca and what's the shape? Different people have different shapes of their own tapioca. I appreciate the warm welcome

Yes, it's my favorite food. The cutting of our tapioca is in rectangular shape. We wash and dry on hot sun either on floor or some erected weaved flat palm fronts.

 2 years ago 

I enjoyed reading through your post ma'am. A farmer with swags. While reading the part that catches my attention more is the mouth watering white soup.
I am salivating already ma'am. Hope you still have the soup.
You made a wonderful write-up ma'am. Thank you for posting in our community.
Regards

Thank you so much. The soup is still there, come and join me

Nice pictures. You are an industrious lady. Thank you for sharing with us

Thank you for the compliment and for reading

Welcome

This post has been upvoted by @italygame witness curation trail


If you like our work and want to support us, please consider to approve our witness




CLICK HERE 👇

Come and visit Italy Community



Hi @ngoenyi,
my name is @ilnegro and I voted your post using steem-fanbase.com.

Please consider to approve our witness 👇

Come and visit Italy Community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.02
ETH 3517.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.09