Spring Garden Tour: Japanese Andromeda tree

in ecoTrain4 years ago

Also known as Pieris, it is an early blooming plant. This is very important to me due to the kind of Bees I help raise. In February or Mach these flowers bloom and give the Bees a great nectar and pollen source. Since the Bees show up early on in the year many other plants do have not flowered yet.

They can hold up to the North Georgia winters and in the hot summer they are mostly in the shade. And seem to thrive with morning sunlight. I previously had them planted where they would get part afternoon light and they seemed unhappy. When I moved them to morning shade light only they really improved.

Depending on the shade and spacing these plants can grow anywhere from three to thirteen feet. I love the color change as they go from bright red new growth to a light green and then finally into a dark green color before coming mature leaves.

With these plants I hope to feed the Bees well. I planted a few others that are small right now but hope in a few years they will be great producers as well.

Right now the large one I stood next to is about six feet tall, the small plants are only a foot tall so far. The big one has a five to seven year head start so hopefully in a few years it will catch up.

A link to the plants profile.

https://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/53930/#b

More info on the bees I help raise.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mason_bee

Many of the plants I started this year are just going to leaf out, and maybe in a few years they will all produce good food and nest building sources for the Mason Bees. With my Apple, Cherry, Pieris, Leatherleaf Mahonia, and maybe some others it should help out the Bees so they do not have to travel as far. Keeping their nests close to their collection sites is important. They will produce more homes in their lifecycle if they can get back home quicker. Since their range is about 300' having them travel less than 50' will help them greatly.

LBRY Video Link


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places. I would be happy to list some of the contributors in my posts for donations that help me along the way.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

Sort:  

Wow what a nice tree! I love gardening. I have a small garden in which I grow vegetables.

It sure is a pretty one, oh nice I would love to see what your growing.. mention me if you post it so ill be sure to notice.

Sorry for the delay in this response, im not on Steem much anymore.

I miss you on Steem dear @solominer. I always had a good interaction with you on Steem. This is one of the photo of my garden.

image.png

Have a great time ahead!

Oh nice, those look like nice green tomatoes. And a nice red plant to the right.

Yes, and there are some other plants as well. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79