Tropical Tasting: Ever Heard of Rollinia?

in ecoTrain4 years ago

One thing that certainly keeps the raw vegan lifestyle very interesting is trying new exotic fruits. Although I already tried so many amazing fruits in South East Asia, there are still a lot of first timers to come.

Today, this was rollinia!



Someone brought me this treasure from a local market here in Cairns, Australia. Right the kind of gifts I get excited about as a raw foodie in the tropics.

On the outside it looks a bit like a big custard apple but with soft spines like dragonfruit. On the inside it resembles soursop. The texture is also very similar to soursop, just a bit creamier and softer, less stringy.



Steemit Rollinia.jpg

What about the taste?



For me it was a swirl of yogurt, vanilla and coconut. What a great add-on to a raspberry smoothie then, right? Check out what I created with it in my new "What I Eat in a Day" post.

All in all, my first rollinia experience was pretty tasty, but not amazing. I can only guess how delicious they can be when you catch a perfect one.


💫 For more daily inspiration about raw food, vibrant nutrition, holistic health and conscious lifestyle - check out my Instagram account or the Raw Expansion website

Enjoy your fruits, everyone! Anais



Steemit Signature 2.jpg

Sort:  

Such a yummy fruit

It was pretty good, but I think this wasn't the best rollinia there can be ;) Next time!

Wow - looks awesome - have never tried that! Thanks for sharing =D

For me it was also the first time - always exciting :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63