Gardening Update

in ecoTrain3 years ago

Hello ecoTrain community, I have been trying to find a good home to share my gardening activities and I hope that this is the place that I can call home.

It is the 1st year in our garden that we are trying to grow vegetables, we have successfully grown raspberries and strawberries (for the squirrels) last year and are pushing things further this year. We are hoping to become as self sufficient as we can with our small plot.

Today, I planted out sweet corn seeds which I am growing in a bed along with potatoes as well as peas and courgettes under a protective "fence" to protect it from the local animals. This meant that I had to uncover the carrots and leeks which have started to grow nicely (although I cannot remember which are carrots and which are leeks!)

The asparagus is growing very tall but since it is only the 2nd year in our garden, I understand that you should not harvest it for another year as you are likely to kill it.

Here are a few photographs of how things are going so far. Please view my blog if you are interested in how well we have done up until this point.

Nearest (Sweet corn and Potatoes), Under cover (Peas and Courgettes)
image.png

Leeks and Carrots (I do not know which is which)
image.png

Asparagus
image.png

sleeping-artistic-cats-on-line.png
– About Me –
I like the same things as most other people, animals, gardening, cooking, travelling, photography, art, TV, music and films which is probably what I’ll write about most. I talk and swear too much and am always noticing things that I should not be noticing. I am the mother to two beautiful young boys and the wife to a caring husband. I live in London and love the city.

Please like, comment, share if you like something and start a conversation, that is where the fun of social media lies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77