Defy Authority - Exercise Your Right to Freedom

in Deep Dives4 years ago (edited)

It wasn't until my second month in the U.S. Military, that I probably first 'strongly' defied authority by telling a 'senior' Drill Instructor to, "Shove it up your ass..."

That was in 1967...I was a mere child at the time, and more naïve than I consider myself these many years later. After un-doing some earlier 'Brainwashing' we typically are exposed to from infancy.


In Boot Camp...what I spat back at that pig-faced, sorry excuse for a human being, were words and in a tone that previously, I feared might land me in jail...but, it didn't.

At the time I returned verbal fire to the foul mouthed, psychopath in a Smokey the Bear hat, I had already suffered from many other slurs by him. There were some degrading taunts about my mother and father (Who he never met) I was called, "Boy"..."Yankee"..."Nord-nar" (northerner) with a host of other obscene, laced insults...

Leaving me in a state of confusion, to say the least, because I was a fairly good, young, recruit who strived to do well and performed well within all aspects of the grueling training. Point wise...I was always first or second completing any task thrown at us, within a company of about 200 'Trainees'.

Here they were... Drill Instructors who were training us to become 'killers' of the enemy and this 'Bozzo' had slowly made himself...'my' enemy...


Eventually, I made a conscious decision to 'not try and figure the shit out' but to just go about doing what I needed to do and be 'myself' in the process. On the streets of New York City, I'd never take that kind of shit from anyone and decided I wouldn't take shit from anyone there either...No matter how many 'stripes' and 'rockers' they had on their arm.

Guess one can say...'that' was the beginning of 'me' defying authority...???

It was a lot 'softer' in another way I 'defied' authority a few weeks later, after another Drill Sargent physically assaulted me, then had the surprised, misfortune of me holding a bayonet to his throat :>)

Everyone nearby saw it...other trainees...other NCO's and even a couple of Officers... I felt for sure, the MP's were going to show up soon and put me in cuffs; but, nothing happened...

As a matter of fact...a couple years later, I was nominated as a candidate to West Point...

I turned it down though...I wasn't about to be harassed by a whole 'new' slew of meatballs who somehow thought they were the 'authority'...

Maybe you too should defy authority a bit more in your lives; especially with this 'lock-down' bullshit, government officials have imposed upon us, along with all those 'other' new 'rules' due to the so-called "Pandemic"...???

Shed the fear, my friends...do what you 'need' to do, not what 'they' order you to do.

Stay defensively defiant, when faced with dangerous tyrants... You might be pleasantly surprised with the results.

Ciao


@AngryMan - May 1, 2020

Member of @DeepDives Community


Sort:  

Stay defensively defiant, when faced with dangerous tyrants... You might be pleasantly surprised with the results.

A couple of problems with defensive defiance, my dear @AngryMan:

  1. It requires a critical mass
  2. It doesn't help against psychopaths in power

A couple of problems with defensive defiance, my dear @AngryMan:
It requires a critical mass
It doesn't help against psychopaths in power

  1. This reads like the typical falsehood, we're often exposed to within lecture classes at the College level, by Professors who are merely echoing an acquired (brainwashing) belief, or too fearful of teaching well grounded, self-evident truth of the contrary for fear of retaliation by their 'masters'. (Unless perhaps, the critical mass is referencing nuclear fission)

  2. Psychopaths in power, are as easily terminated as a rabid dog on the street... It only requires 'one' individual, with 'one' bullet, in 'one' gun, within proper range and 'one' well placed shot.

Unfortunately, there too often exists 'another' psychopath, equally evil, hidden in the shadow to seize the power.

  1. This reads like the typical falsehood, we're often exposed to within lecture classes at the College level, by Professors who are merely echoing an acquired (brainwashing) belief, or too fearful of teaching well grounded, self-evident truth of the contrary for fear of retaliation by their 'masters'. (Unless perhaps, the critical mass is referencing nuclear fission)

You may read it as you wish, @angryman, but I was certainly not ‘too fearful’ when I walked alone during the curfew, and was arrested on Orthodox Easter. Here is a text in Serbian:

https://hive.blog/informationwar/@lighteye/ukhapsheni-vaskrs-2020

It’s a simple matter of fact – if there was at least 15 people with me, arrest wouldn’t be possible.

Well 'dear' @lighteye... I applaud you for your defiance of curfew (alone) without fear.

It’s a simple matter of fact – if there was at least 15 people with me, arrest wouldn’t be possible.

Perhaps so... Yet... The last time two hoodlums with a Pit-Bull tried to rob me... 'I' was 'alone' but put an end to their assault fortunately, due to adequate preparation, tactical practice and ability to effectively employ a successful defense.

I didn't have "15" people with me either! No 'critical mass' was required for 'that' defensive defiance.

A friend of mine (67 yrs of age) was peacefully riding his bicycle along a wooded trail nearby, when a group of 'three' scumbags punched him in the face as he rode by. He fell to the ground, dazed and bruised as they continued to assault him...

One punk died at the scene...a second died in route to the hospital. The third managed to escape by running away. The defiant, resister was rightfully 'praised' by the District Attorney, Police and most citizens here, for having exercised his right to 'self'-defense. (No 'critical mass' necessary)

Want another example? There are 'many' to cite historically and I suspect that 'you' probably hold more examples in mind than I when it comes to more, perhaps ancient, European accounts.

I can cite plenty of examples where 'critical mass' might have had a more desired outcome for 'victims' that failed in their quest, but my point is: what you said "is required" does not hold true. Sometimes we win...sometimes 'not'...regardless of the stats...

You being fearful or 'not' matters little to me...I addressed your 'stated' opinion, that 'you' chose to offer, which in 'my' mind and experience was simply untrue.

The "fear" word inserted within my original response was merely inserted with reference to some 'academics' in a 'classroom' setting propagating a false narrative for fear of losing their jobs; going against the grain so-to-speak.

That's it...no BIG deal...it was not intended to be an accusatory statement, directed towards you in regards to manliness or lack there off.

 4 years ago (edited)

… tactical practice and ability to effectively employ a successful defense.

Then you have to rephrase your ‘defensive defiance’ into what it really is – a ‘defensive resistance’ – which I do advocate as a much more effective way of coping with insane billionaires and false authorities… and a few punks in the street:

https://steemit.com/hive-122315/@lighteye/coronavirus-liberty-will-not-be-restored-without-action

Well...I also defy government mandates which appear intended to inhibit our personal freedom and do it in seemingly 'small' covert ways.

One small example: I plant and grow food in my garden, as well as 'other' places, even when gov't. officials attempt to keep us from doing so by forcing the closure of Garden Centers.

Also...like 'you'... I am not afraid of refusing to obey 'Stay at Home' orders.

Resistance in some of these 'small' ways I think are as important as more extreme methods and can serve as an example to others, who may be fearful to resist and act in accordance with their personal need and desire.

Sometimes, our 'small' acts of rebellion/resistance, affect a growing adoption by the masses, over time through example.

Here in the U.S., our Constitution, along with 'Bill of Rights' has increasingly come under fire by malevolent actors, inside and outside of the Government. I happen to 'like' the Bill of Rights and would be happier to see this legislation added to, rather than diminished by way of legislation that automatically criminalizes, non-criminal expression of freedom.

We're both probably of a similar mindset in this regard, from what little I know of you through your writings.

Ciao

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75