The Time I Made Judy Murray Laugh

I've been very fortunate in my time as a sports fan to have been able to watch many of the World's greatest athletes (mostly footballers) at the top of their game.

Whilst purchasing tickets for Eastbourne's WTA and ATP tournament at the end of June, I thought about the times I've been fortunate enough to go to Wimbledon. I've been 3 times in all, getting to see Novak Djokovic, Serena Williams, Kei Nishkori and Andy Murray amongst the best I've watched.

In 2018, I was out on Court No. 2 where I got to watch the mighty Juan Martin Del Potro beat Benoit Paire followed by the incredibly aggressive Dominika Cibulkova who beat Elise Mertens.

DSC02901.JPG
☝ My photo - Juan Martin Del Potro

And it was the 3rd match of the day where I got to watch doubles maestros Jamie Murray and Bruno Soares. As is traditional for the Murray brothers, Judy (Jamie and Andy Murray's mum) prefers to watch Jamie and she settled down just a few seats from us, sat next to some bloke from Strictly Come Dancing who I didn't recognise (the-mrs-gorilla knew who he was).

👇 These 2
image.png
Source

DSC02915.JPG
☝ My photo

Me being a gobby football fan, there are times when I simply can't help myself and this was one of those times. I have no idea at what point in the match it was, but I remember Murray and Soares had just won a point with some unnecessarily audacious shot from Jamie. Sensing that the boy was getting cocky, I decided upon a couple of words of advice...

"Don't get cocky Jamie"

This was much to Judy's amusement. It would seem that she was also keen for Jamie not to get complacent.

I was oblivious to her reaction until I got a nudge in the ribs from the-mrs and a word in my ear saying "that really tickled his mum" at which point, I turn to my left and see her giggling to herself. I would have expected at this point to have been asked to join them in their "box" (which were actually just seats directly next to mine) to enhance their coaching team but it was not to be and at the end of the match, we went our separate ways.

Sort:  

Eso debe de ser una gran experiencia siempre he querido ver jugar a Nadal quien es mi jugador favorito, pero ver a Serena y Del potro tuvo que ser algo fenomenal, la potencia con que golpean es única. Saludos amigo!

I think that Nadal is one of the only from the group of Federer, Nadal, Murray and Djokovic I haven't seen. Maybe he'll play at Eastbourne this year 😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65375.87
ETH 3337.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63