My view and experience of campus connect and lodges around by @yuceetoriad.

in CampusConnect2 years ago (edited)

Welcome back to my blog content for this week's engagement contest. I appreciate @campusconnectng for this interesting contest.

Which did you do when you gained admission on campus, did you reside in the school hostel or not?

When I gained admission into the tertiary institution, I applied for hostel space. I know it will not be a bed of roses thing, so I wasn't really surprised at the turn of events in the hostel because I stayed in the hostel when I was doing my pre-art at Micheal Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike. (MOUAU).

The rector in charge when I came to school as an ND student was a good man, he had the affairs of the students at heart. So he always made sure to keep all the equipment up to date. Not that he was without fault, but he did his best to ensure that things ran smoothly.

Unfortunately, when he stepped down and a new rector was instated, everything went bad. Bad administration is the worst thing that can happen to an organisation. Currently, staff and students are complaining. School workers are not paid, causing the school to be very untidy, the hostels is now in a very bad shape, and nothing is being done about it.

What is the reason behind your choices.

▶My reason for living in the hostel was initially about funds. I didn't have enough funds to afford living in a lodge. I stayed there throughout my stay in school because I enjoyed the company.
▶The security was top notch inside school, and hostel students wete nit joked with.

IMG_20220302_151502.jpg

IMG_20220302_151418.jpg

What are your experiences in the school hostel and in wherever you decided to stay.

Living away from home can be scary as hell for some persons, but not for me. This is something I have been looking forward to.
While staying in the hostel, one would have a full load of experience they can share stories from.

  • I grew up and became more independent.
  • I made new friends from different background, culture anf tribe.
  • I crave my privacy and found ways to control myself even in the midst of people.
  • I became a better person.

Did you enjoy your stay there and why?

One thing about hostels is that it teaches you on how to handle certain matters.
It taught me to be temperamental: if you live in the hostel, you can accommodate all kinds of behaviour. No one is going to act the way you want they to, so you learn to live with their idiosyncrasies. When I go out now, I am able to assimilate the kind of person I am with and how best to associate with them.

▶Hostel made me feel at home but I guess, it was because of the people I stayed with. They were homely, friendly, and accomodating.
▶Hostel is full of different movies, a day those not pass without one drama or the other, it is either one group is fighting or another is tearing clothes apart.

What do you think needs improvement

A lot. Currently
➡️The building needs a serious touch up, painting, if possible
➡️ The fees should be reduced to enable indigent students pay for a space.
➡️ The needs of the students should be looked into. My stay in the hostel was filled with complaints. No light, no water, no security.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of living on-campus

Advantages
▶You learn new things everyday.
▶ You get encouraged to study yoir books ehen you see others studying. For me, I feel uneasy if I see others reading and I know I have not opened my books for the day.

Disadvantages
▶Security: The security in school is not what it used to be, security men do not stay inside the school anymore making the hostel prone to attack from outsiders.
▶Different characters, some persons you cannot even relate to because of their bad behaviours.
▶Limited Space in the hostel making everywhere to be congested.

I invite @ogwo and @confydence to this contest, I hope to see your entry soon.

Cc: @goodybest

#campusengagement-week4, #campusconnect #lifestyle #club5050 #steemexclusive

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thank you, @yuceetoria for making this quality post in our community today.
We hope to read more of your quality contents

Criteria RemarkGrade
Quality1.5 /3
Markdown/presentation1.5/2.5
#clubclub50/75/1001 /1
Verified user1/1
Plagiarism free1/1
#steemexclusive1 /1
Bot free0.5/0.5
Total-7.5/10
 2 years ago 

Hello @yuceetoria, thanks for publishing this post in Campus Connect community,

Your post has been supported using Campus Connect Curation account.

Keep publishing original and quality posts in Campus Connect community.

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPTpz7Uq5ujHgG4nBFxBmGTKURwn9hGbB3jzG2jac9Sd5A7HYfy1ne3WpQ2kRVkj3jqhCeMGVux (1).png

Curated by : @jueco

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66437.76
ETH 3321.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71