CAMPUS GAME-SEASON 3/ WEEK 1- ROCKET SHIP BY TEAM FABULOUS

in CampusConnect2 years ago

1646255894418.jpgImage Source

That which I loved the most became the death of me.

"Dave, do you copy" That was the fourth time the call was being made, but all the team got was a blank screen and a static response. No words were said, only the hissing of the radio.

Chude swallowed hard, he felt responsible, it was not supposed to be like this. His lips were dry and his throat patched. He looked around, everyone wearing a sullen face. He just wanted to crawl into his skin and wake up from the bad dream he was having.

The team was dimly aware of the faint hiccups Frank made crouched down in a corner.

"Dave, please come on. You can't do this to us now" He hissed into the walkie talkie but all he got was silence.

"I shouldn't have let him go in there, Cap" Frank told Chude

"We can still do something"

"He can't be dead, he may still be alive right?" Frank asked hysterically, attempting to go out.

Chude, seeing how frantic Frank was, held him bound within his arms, both consoling themselves.

"That's enough Frank, He's gone"

The last two words broke the last strength in him. Frank fell to his knees and let out a loud growl.

Chude placed his sweaty hands on the brown woods of the chair, balancing his weight so he doesn't slide off to his knees. He needed to be strong for his teammates. They will be going back to NASA headquarters without one of them.

How will they tell this story? What will he tell Dave's wife and kids? The reality of the situation hit him so hard, that he swooped to the ground with his head in his hands.

He's gone. He's gone. He's gone.
A never ending chant going on in his end.

How do we get over this?

                ◼   ◼    ◼

1646255966301.jpgImage Source

The stars always called to me. As a child, my Mum would say I have a connection with space. I always sat down when a space program came on the TV. I memorized all the acts, I knew one day it would be me up there doing my best. The pull was strong, my relationship with the constellation grew stronger and stronger by the day.

It came as no surprise when I eventually got into Leiden University on a Scholarship in honour of the NASA Program, I was somewhat of a genius. I felt happy to be recognized as part of the family. Finally, I was part of history. We worked hard which was proven when we were selected to tour Asteroid. We were ecstatic, a long awaited dream coming true.

We had been successful when we toured Mars, our first trip but unfortunately, the same will not be said about this mission.

              ◼    ◼    ◼

I heard a faint voice calling my name but I couldn't summon the strength to answer. I felt free, floating in the air.

I was tired, I couldn't hold on to life anymore.

What does it feel like being on an asteroid? I only hope others were safe and not affected by the crash, then it will be all for nothing.

I spun fast moving upward, the rocket rotating upwards with speed. I try to identify the celestial bodies as I spurned, the sun, moon, stars, debris. The spurning increased with fervor before a calmness.

Then an explosion.

And thus, I faded into nothingness. Into the eternity of another world.

Best regards to #teamfabulous

@davosimple
@yuceetoria
@unyimeetuk
@paulyoung

#campusfiction #campusgames #rocketships #club5050 #steemexclusive #writing

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

You made a great post @yuceetoria, this is just creative and the blend is very nice. Great Job.

Thank you for your participation in #campus games Season 3-week 1

Rate - 8

 2 years ago 

Wow I really enjoy reading through your team fictional story, I can't wait to read how it turns out. Continue to be active we appreciate your effort 💕 and please you may consider delegating SP for us we will pay weekly delegation reward.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44