CAMPUSCONNECT NIGERIA WEEKLY CONTEST-WEEK3 - MAKING CHANGES

in CampusConnect3 years ago (edited)

Great Nigeria students! Great!!
I want to Yarn! Yarn!!
I want to Vibrate! Vibrate!!
I want to gbem gbem! Gbem gbem!!
I want to talk......

Good day to all the students in the house, I'm so delighted to be part of this community and also to be part of this great contest it's really an opportunity to talk about the changes in our University and also learn about others Universities. But before I commence I sincerely want to appreciate @compusconnetng for organizing this great contest.

My name is Yakubu peace known as @yakspeace and I'm a student of Federal University Wukari Taraba State. studying computer science presently I'm in my final year.

logo.png
Source

Federal University Wukari is located in wukari town in Taraba State North West. The school was established in 2011. My school is the only federal University in Taraba State and it offers admission to any qualify students world wide. The university offers bachelor of degree, post graduate program in Agriculture, Law, engineering, sciences and social science courses, and the school fee is affordable. I must say my school is one of the best University even though it's still a baby University but the management are actually trying. Before I came to the university I always hear complains from other school about the delay in realising semester results but to be frank with you my school realise results three weeks after Exams and after your final year exams you don't have to stay at home for extra year like other universities before going for your NYSC, as I speak to you now I'm not yet done with my final exam but we have already had our NYSC orientation seminar and we have started filling our bio data form for NYSC mobilization.
Since I came to the university I have never experience any violence from any cults or gangs because the level of security here in my school will not allow such an act. But other universities do complain about cult guys in there various school's Our lectures are very good.

Cost of Education
As I earlier Said the cost of education in my school is very affordable because it's a federal University, both the accommodation and school fees could cost at least 60k but it's depends on your level and faculty, the humanities students pay lesser than the science students which is most applicable in most Universities. To other student it maybe expensive but to me it's ok because all fingers are not equal.

Some Challenges in my school
Federal University Wukari faces some challenges among which are;

Communal crisis: Wukari as a community has surffered alot of crisis between the Christians and the Muslim, TIV and the Jukum crisis, the school could have grown more than this but because of the crisis it has eventually affected the school. Most lecturer's when posted to wukari won't come because of the crisis. Houses are been burnt down and properties destroyed when ever this crisis starts. The joy of it all is that students are always safe despite the crisis.

Accomondation: the house rent down here in wukari is too expensive because during the crisis much houses were burned down so in that case the people are scared of building new houses. For that reason, most students want to stay in the hostel but the hostels is not enough, most expecialy the female hostels you will find out that 4 to 5 persons are staying in the same room which is not conducive for learning, even though the school management are against it but the students always have there way in scauting other students in there rooms.

IMG_20210513_090929_723.jpg
The present girls hostel

Labrary: through out my study in Federal University Wukari I went to the library once because there are much student and the labrary is too small, if you want to use the labrary you have to come very early even at that you won't be comfortable while reading inside the library because it will be congested so much student prefer reading in the classroom than the library.

IMG_20210513_091326_532.jpg
The present labrary

INFRASTRUCTURE
I most say the school management are seriously trying in this aspect, because during my year one in the school lectures venue has always been an issue because the classroom and lecture halls are not much but for now I must say we have alot of lectures halls and complex which are more comfortable and condusive for learning.
Some faculties are still under construction such as the engineering, medicine and surgery, Law and the education faculties. Along side with the female hostels.

IMG20210513091405.jpg
The Admin block

IMG20210513090038.jpg
The new female hostels

IMG20210513083931.jpg

IMG_20210513_084305_506.jpg

IMG_20210513_083909_942.jpg

IMG20210513084058.jpg

IMG20210513084215.jpg

IMG20210513083858.jpg

IMG_20210513_083400_242.jpg

IMG_20210513_083058_589.jpg
The new labrary

IMG_20210513_085601_326.jpg
Faculty of medicine and surgery

Competent Lecturers and better Departmental procedures

In my school the lectures are trying as well they always try to give us the best, especially when it comes to my department computer science I must say my lecturer's are very good. More also the issue of sorting is not pronounced in my school, if you as a student fail a course, you have to resit for the exams. No lecturer collects money from any student in the name of adding marks.

Well equipped and better sports Complex

In time of sports complex my school is greatly lacking in this aspect because we don't have a good and well equipped sport complex, most often the students goes out to another school for there training because the school doesn't have a sports complex, even though there is a construction going on besides the school foot ball field yet uncomplited. Looking at the aspect of foot ball field, the carpet grasses planted for softening has been poorly managed. During the off season when there is less moisture and Little or no rainfall the grasses dies up. There is no proper machineries to maintain this grasses even when there is sufficient rainfall and the grasses tend to grow more taller.
Some of the students which can't stand going out to other schools to carried on there sport activities tend to control these growth rate by treating with the use of cutlasses.

IMG_20210513_082312_770.jpg
The school football field

Accountable Students union.

The students union in my school is very poor, when I came to the school I only hard we have students union government but I have never seen any activities carried out by the school government union, according to the old student they said the position of the students union government was by appointment as of then.
The students lay complaint concerning it which later within the year 2020 that is last year, the management gave various departments the go ahead to nominate two students each to come and contest in the forum of the SUG. This lead to an election which some of these students were elected for the post of the union government including it cabinate.

According to the management, the result of this nomination was done so as to avoid violence within the students in the campus. But as time progresses we strong believe that students will therefore elect the students government of their choices. And full politics will be exercise when ever it comes to SUG elections.

images (5).jpeg
Source
Images of the present SUG officials

In this case I most say that the elected students alongside with the president of the union government are doing great works thereby been able to organized some programs which has never been done in the school before and all was carried out within the year of 2021 and also they have contributed by laying complains concerning availability and sufficient in accommodation to the school management and later on was considered and implimented.

Thanks for reading through...

Cc
@campusconnectng
@whitestallion

#makingchanges #nigeria #steemit #contest #education

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81