Campus Connect Nigeria Weekly Contest- Week 1-Tell us about your University 23/04/2021

in CampusConnect3 years ago (edited)

Greetings to you all steemians in this wonderful community of @campusconnect. It is with pleasure that I participate in this contest and I am happy to showcase my university to the world. As an international participant I will be presenting the best university in my area. I am a level 600 student in the University of Bamenda, Cameroon my favorite university in the country.

download.jpeg " Source

LOCATION OF THE UNIVERSITY OF BAMENDA

The University of Bamenda, one of the prestigious learning institutions in the country is located in Bambili town, in the North West region of Cameroon. It is found about 10km from Bamenda main city with an accessible road. It is found at the heart of Bambili town and coveys people from all parts of the region and country

Screenshot_20210424-232243.png location of the University of Bamenda from Google map

BRIEF HISTORY OF THE UNIVERSITY OF BAMENDA

The University of Bamenda, also known as UBa, is an accredited public university, located in Bambili, Northwest Region, Cameroon. It was officially established in the year 2011, as an Anglo-Saxon university. The idea for UBa goes as far as 1963, a period when southern Cameroonians experienced a low number of university graduates and jobs lost to Nigerians and Britons. To that effect, the Education Policy Paper of July 1963 envisaged the Cameroon College of Arts, Science and Technology (CCAST) as a future college of the Federal University of Cameroon created in 1962. This dream was nonetheless short-lived due to logistics constraints. CCAST was later transferred from Kumba to Bambili, and this began a 43-year march (1967- 2010) towards an Anglo-Saxon university in Bamenda. UBa currently operates at the ENS campus in Bambili with many school and and faculties to suit the needs of the students.
" Source

FACULTIES AND SCHOOLS/ COLLEGES

There about 8 faculties and 6 schools in the University of Bamenda which include the following:

SCHOOLS

•ENS/HTTC: Higher teachers training college

•ENSET/HTTTC: Higher technical teachers training college

•HICM: Higher institute of commerce and management

•HITL: Higher institute of transport and logistics

•COLTECH: College of technology( my own school )

FACULTIES

•Faculty of arts- FA

•Faculty of economics and
management sciences - FEMS

•Faculty of education- FED

•Faculty of health science - FHS

•Faculty of law and political sciences - FLPD

•Faculty of science - FS

•HND/HPD/B-TECH

•National higher polytechnic institute -NAPHI

The pictures below shows some infrastructure and beauty of the campus
IMG-20210421-WA0048.jpg main gate into the campus
" Source

unnamed.jpg
View of the central administrative office
" Source

IMG-20210421-WA0047.jpg
HTTC bukaroo unit

IMG-20210421-WA0044.jpg
Transport and logistic building

IMG-20210421-WA0038.jpg
A section of the parking lot

IMG-20210421-WA0037.jpg
COLTECH administrative block

OTHERS

Aside from education the university offers multipurpose activities like sporting facilities, club activities, library, computer center unit, hostels and school restaurant. See pictures below

IMG-20210421-WA0026.jpg inside view of a section of the library

IMG-20210421-WA0046.jpg restaurant

IMG-20210421-WA0049.jpg sports complex

IMG-20210421-WA0043.jpg
newly constructed hostel

IMG-20210421-WA0045.jpg computer center unit

HOW DID I GET TO KNOW ABPUT THE UNIVERSITY?

QI got to know about my school 4 years after obtaining my GCE advanced level. When I graduated from high school, I wanted to go to an Anglophone university and there was just one in the country at that time. The reputation of students who went there especially most girls who engaged in prostitution and made everyone have a bad impression of girls who went there discouraged me from going to the university. I then decided to go to a professional school in my area and within these years of train the Bamenda University was created in the ENS campus in Bambili. I was glad about the news and after obtaining my HND I applied in the 3rd level in 2015 and since then I have been a student at the University of Bamenda even after working for 3 years before coming for my master program

WHY DO I LOVE THE SCHOOL?

There are so many reasons to love the University of Bamenda.

•It is the only state university in my area with many trained and professional lecturers

•Morality is one of the factors respected in the university

•The situation or localization is a good site for studies which I like. That is, it is away from town and free from town noise

•Agricultural production technology programs is offered her which is my field of interest

•Living conditions is cheaper in this area and school cost is cheaper and affordable than other universities

•There are hostels on campus which students live in and is affordable. I once lived in the hostel in 2016 in my last year of the bachelor’s degree.

•Examination malpractices, bribery and marks obtained through sexual activities with lecturers are strictly punishable in my University.

These many reasons bring people from other towns, countries to study in this university and the University booms with many exciting activities. Though a young university but it quality educational system and dynamism makes me love the university so much.

Thank you for reading my post and special thanks to the initiators of this contest and community.

Sort:  

What interest me most is the pictures of your University surroundings.
I appreciate your efforts.
From,
Joseph Agwu Ogbajie,
@ johanjahb.

The university campus really have a cool environment and condusive for learning. That's an important aspect for me. Thank you very much for visiting my post sir @johanjahb

You have been upvoted by @whitestallion and I’m voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator04 account to support African authors with original and quality content.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69