My Diary - Spent The Weekend At YabaTech Local Market - 17/04/2022

in CampusConnect2 years ago

I'm the type of individual who desires to have enough money to buy what I need; it's not that I'm trying to pass myself off as a millionaire, but the truth is that when I meet a reseller and select what I require, I always feel very confident hyping, especially when I understand what I'm buying and how it's traded. However, if I'm unsure, touting becomes more difficult for me.

Every seller wants to make money off of the products they sell. When I go to the market, I always keep this in mind since, as someone who provides services to others, I realize how important profit is to the seller.

Today, I went to the YabaTech market to buy some ingredients for soup preparation. Remember I'm still in YabaTech spending time with my friend, I'm also considering writing Jamb or using Jupeb to secure admission to the school. I've been in the school for over two weeks and I'm enjoying my stay there.

I've also considered that it would be a good time to photograph places and landmarks for #mytownin10pics entry.

IMG_20220419_180631.jpg

When I arrived at this crowded market, I pulled out my phone to shoot this photo while I walked about looking for the stuff that brought me there. The first thing I bought were leaves for a soup I was planning to make. Before departing, I bought (Shoko and Oziza leave) for N400 approx 2 STEEM, as well as stockfish and black pepper for N1,500 approximately 10 STEEM.

IMG_20220419_182225.jpg

I headed to the ice fish reseller. She showed me two fish and urged me to get them for N4000 as I entered her corner. "Ah madam, it's very pricey o," I remarked, looking at the fish.
I told her that my budget for the ice fish was N3000. She decided to sell the fishes for N3500 after a little more haggling. I paid and proceeded to the meat vendor's stand.

IMG_20220419_181646.jpg

I looked at the meat for a while, trying to figure out which one to pick. As if he sensed my hesitation, the man spoke up and inquired about the amount of meat I require. I responded by telling him N1000.
I typically protest to meat sellers about how little the portions they sell are, but I didn't this time because a small voice in my head convinced me that he did a good job selling the meat. As a result, I paid him and proceeded to the cowskin vendor.

IMG_20220419_180346.jpg

When I entered, she informed me that one half of it would cost N250 apiece, my spending limit was N1000 (for the cow skin). So I begged she should allow me pay N200 per piece,she agreed I proceeded to select the cowskins. I exited that area and proceeded to the next block, where smoked and dried fish were being sold.

IMG_20220419_182707.jpg

I saw dried fish, also known as (kpanla fish) in Yoruba, displayed in quantity and purchased the fish in separate nylons for N250 apiece. I gave the vendor N1000 and instructed her to give me two which is N500, I collected my change. I didn't go any deeper into the market at this point; instead, I went in the path that would lead us out of the market. I came in via the shade of a tomato and pepper vendor.

Finally, I exited the market and noticed Pepper and tomato store, then with the change I collected from the smoke fish vendor, I bought roughly N500 worth of tomatoes and pepper. Despite the fact that I was just purchasing N500, I had to insist on the seller putting in enough tomatoes for me.

IMG_20220419_180122.jpg

I ordered for Taxify, which cost N1500 to my door step, I got home, headed to the shower to bath and dry off the sweat from the market.

In total, I spent N9,500 including my transportation fare, that's approximately 63 STEEM at the current price of STEEM.

Thank you for taking your time to read.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hello @tayetaiwo thanks for sharing your day with us here and showing us the yabatech market, are prices of goods cheaper over there?

REMARKS;

Plagiarism-freeYES
#steemexclusiveYES
#club5050YES
DelegationYES
Bot-freeYES
BENEFICIARYYES

 2 years ago 

The price of goods are really cheap compared to the island part of Lagos state... Infact it surprised me when the fish vendor called her fish 3k... If it had been on Island I'll be getting it for nothing less than 7k

 2 years ago 

Wow that's great 👍 such a huge difference, things are costly over here

 2 years ago 

Things should please be cheap everywhere so that one can afford the necessary nutrients required by the body.
Nice one

 2 years ago 

Thank you for coming through

Hi, @tayetaiwo

Please support our team (@alexmove.witness and @steemit-market). We ask you to vote for us as witnesses. We are developing automatic checks for the uniqueness of posts, user ratings and other scripts and activities. We are also preparing a big project - the online shop (sale for STEEM/SBD).

Every day we send double cashback to those who voted for us. Your vote is very important to us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64198.11
ETH 2759.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66