DISCOVERY: THE PLANT THAT HATES BEING TOUCHED

in CampusConnect3 years ago (edited)

Hey guyss...
I'm so excited!!!... Today while walking to school, I made a new discovery. There were weed by the road side. As a toucy person that I am, subconsciously touching plants and flowers I see is my thing. Now this particular plant did something quite unusual. It MOVED!!! Never seen anything like this before my entire life.
I know plants move and all but it wasn't something we could see but rather observe overtime. I guess I was wrong.
20210831_152744.jpg
This was before i touched it. The leaflets were open.

Screenshot_20210901-064927_Gallery.jpg
[E shock you]

I know what you're thinking NO they aren't dead!
This was the aftereffect of my touch. Amazing right??
Didn't take me a long time to open up my phone to check it out online on my Google chrome browser.
Turns out there's alot I didn't know existed. But then the discovery is cool

images (10).jpeg
Mimiosa plant

Mimosa pudica (from Latin: pudica "shy, bashful or shrinking"; also called sensitive plant, sleepy plant, action plant, touch-me-not, shameplant is a creeping annual or perennial flowering plant of the pea/legume family Fabaceae. It is often grown for its curiosity value: the compound leaves fold inward and droop when touched or shaken, defending themselves from harm, and re-open a few minutes later. Mimosa pudica is well known for its rapid plant movement. Like a number of other plant species, it undergoes changes in leaf orientation termed "sleep" or nyctinastic movement. The foliage closes during darkness and reopens in light. This was first studied by French scientist Jean-Jacques d'Ortous de Mairan
Due to Mimosa's unique response to touch, it became an ideal plant for many experiments regarding plant habituation and memory.
Wiki

Turns out plants do a whole lot of crazy things I didn't know about. Well, since we learn everyday I guess that's another one for the books. I'm glad I made this discovery.
Check out the video I made here

Cc; @cryptokannon @steemcurator03 @whitestallion @alphafx @campusconnectng @sandrakez @emmanuel-malume

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Well done on your discovery
I remember back then as kids we use to play with this plant alot, never knew its still in existence, thought it had gone extinct

It's very much still in existence. Thank you very much

 3 years ago 

I remember when we both saw the plant and how you expressed your reaction towards the unusual nature of the plant.

Yeahh..quite extraordinary plant

Hi. One of the standout features of the discovery plus streaming service is its collection of original programs. Subscribers can enjoy exclusive shows that cannot be found anywhere else, giving them a unique viewing experience. These original series cover a variety of topics such as cooking, history, science, and true crime, so there is something for everyone. In addition, the platform regularly releases new content, which ensures that viewers always have something fresh and interesting to watch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63893.57
ETH 2528.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65