CONTEST: University Politics on the Campus | 20% payout to @campusconnectng

in CampusConnect3 years ago

Apparently, it will not be proper for me to dive into the contest without introducing my school.

1C99BF20-8EC1-43EA-8DB9-1F3F4F3AE3DF.jpeg

I’m a student of famous Federal Polytechnic, Nekede Owerri. The school operates both morning, evening and weekend programs and currently have about 50,000 students.

My campus alway have 3 President of Student Union Government (SUG) every session. Which are;

  • The morning program SUG President
  • Evening Program Student Association (EPSA)
  • Weekend Program student Association (WPSA).

There are also inter departmental student governance which is controlled by department president etc.

20068E84-3299-4955-8742-D32C1480C7B7.jpeg

QUESTION: Are you an active politician in your institution?

I’m an active politician. Although I’m not eligible to contest for any position due the fact that I didn’t study for my National Diploma here, but my passion for politics have encourage me to be strong supporter of eligible aspirants. As an Akwa Ibomite, I have indulge in National Association of Akwa Ibom State Student (NAKISS) union and not an exception in the political affairs of the association.
The departmental politic is not a left out as well.

20068E84-3299-4955-8742-D32C1480C7B7.jpeg

QUESTION: Are you a supporter of any student aspirant in your university?

Yes, I’m a supporter of two aspirant in ongoing campaign for a forthcoming election. In morning SUG election, I was a supporter of an aspirant by name Ahannu Valentine (pardon if misspelled the Igbo name). Luckily, we was declared the winner and his swearing in will be held very soon.

In the ongoing Evening Program Student Association (EPSA) presidential campaign, I support Comrade Nlewem Wisdom C.

0C427A6F-635D-4B2A-A68D-680E5F785D1D.jpeg
I pasted Comrade Nlewem Wisdom C. campaign sticker on my school bag in order to promote him.


A young of integrity that have create a positive record for himself since his first year in the institute.
I wish him success and will be glad to witness his swearing in.

20068E84-3299-4955-8742-D32C1480C7B7.jpeg

What do you make of politics in your university?

Everywhere, politics have the good and bad side of it and my campus is not an exception. The good side is the privilege that student obtain in building their leadership potentials against the future. While the bad side is student bad conduct of going extra miles to win the election.
The election process adapted in my campus is E-voting method which always take place in the campus ICT block, most student still complain about rigging of votes. Well, I don’t know how possible that may be but I don’t doubt it any well.

930FD0D7-A14F-4E19-9E56-4636197BC4E3.jpeg

QUESTION: Have you ever had a political position

Yes, I’ve been opportune to held a departmental position during my National Diploma 2nd year. My position was Director of Machine. A position that was given to even though I didn’t contest against the contestant because of my technical knowledge of machine operations and close relationships with practical lecturers. However, I had no option than to step down for the initial aspirant (who was in first year) during my final semester because of not being able to focus on my position due to final year project.

1EE74990-64C2-4F3B-8797-2FCF12A605B1.jpeg

Conclusion

The adage; great thing started small is a better way of describing the destination of students that involves in campus politics. A typical example is the incumbent Minister of Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) Sen. Godswill O. Akpabio. He was an active politician during his days in the university (University of Calabar) and was opportune to held reputable positions of been a speaker of student parliament before he graduated source. Today, his energy and reputation in the National level is commendable.

Student should flee from all forms of atrocities that they may encounter during campaign etc. This will help them grow up to become sincere leaders and voters as well.

F6685F15-02BC-4344-833F-9A0B4E364426.jpeg

Thanks for reading my entry

Cc:

@campusconnect
@whitestallion

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

@paulyoung, Thanks for sharing with us on @campusconnect . Continue sharing your quality contents with us here we love and appreciate your effort ,Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65316.48
ETH 2593.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65