CampusConnect Nigeria Weekly Contest- Week 1-Tell us about your University

in CampusConnect3 years ago

image.png

My entry into the campusconnect contest. For more info follow the link

I went to the University of Benin (Uniben), which is located in Benin city, Edo state, the southern part of Nigeria. It was established in the year 1970. With Sanusi Lamido as chancellor and Prof. Lillian Salami as the vice-chancellor.

Our motto is knowledge for service and the color that represents the school is purple, gold and yellow.

The University of Benin has 15 faculties including the college of medicine. There are two campuses. One is located in ugbowo while the other in ekehuan campus.

The ekehuan campus is for only arts students. We also have some of them in the main campus-ugbowo. The main campus is the house for the other 14 faculties.

Interestingly I had what one would call a shallow reason for picking the university of Benin. One of the reasons is because I had a crush on a girl in my school then, her first choice was uniben so I decided to go there. Also, a friend of mine wanted to go there too.

Another reason is that I had spent so much of my years in Lagos state (where I was raised). I needed a change of scenery and it is no news most of us want to be far away from home to have some level of freedom.

I applied for accounting but I was given insurance. To date, I can't explain why I decided to study that course. I guess you could say I just wanted to leave home.

I consider my school one of the best in the country. It has produced top alumni such as former Lagos state governor Babatunde Fashola, Oladipo Agboluaje who is a British-based play righter and our very own Richard Mofe Damijo amongst others.

Asides from that I pride myself on the knowledge and exposure to our can gain in the system. The school curriculum is comprehensive. It not only prepares you for the world inside, but it also prepares you for the world outside. I got to learn more about the culture of the Edo people. I am from the Eastern part of Nigeria.

The cost of living around uniben is relatively cheap. Housing, transportation, feeding is on the low side as compared to some places like Lagos and Port Harcourt. They had a student-friendly apartment that had enough security.

There are limited places you could go for fun though. Before I left school some new companies established outlets around school like Filmhouse, Penthouse, Nadia bakery, etc. Which made my experience better.

One thing you will also find in Uniben is cultism. I stayed in ekosodin for a while, I had few instances where they caused trouble. One thing I noticed is if you avoid them they will avoid you. You just have to learn to play safe, avoid late nights and all.

Overall my experience in Uniben was a blissful one. I had a few up and down but that is expected from an area you are new too.

Sort:  

You have been upvoted by @whitestallion and I’m voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator04 account to support African authors with original and quality content.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69