TRUTH ABOUT GRADUATING

in CampusConnect2 years ago

Greetings,

It's your friend @mondraye and today I will be sharing an important content on the truth about graduating.


0001-31790332325_20220729_220625_0000.png


I can still remember the sound of my name being called during college graduation in the lonesome hours of my nostalgic hours. I knew exactly where I was going at that very moment. Four years of commitment at a prestigious university, even if it meant tearing down relationships for the course I wanted to stand out on my resume.

They were correct when they stated that the most dynamic candidates to hire are recent grads. As we leave the academic world, the fascinating uncertainty and excitement will fill our minds. Yes, it was frightening, but even that notion cannot stop us from aspiring to a life of independence. "How will my personal space be decorated? With my first salary, what will I purchase? Now, where do I want to go? Hello dream position! Hello, relationship objectives! The world is so filled of joyful thought bubbles that we tend to forget that getting a degree doesn't guarantee a simple existence.

They were correct to outline the challenges of adulthood, but we chose not to pay attention. We often imagine what our own home would look like, but we never consider how much rent costs. We get excited when we think of our first paycheck but never when we have debts to pay. Already in our minds are the "instagrammable" travel photographs, but not the costs that must be cut in order to pay for the tickets. Nobody warned us that our dream job was shared by so many other candidates before us and that you don't always come out on top. Nobody said that once you land your dream job, it would be unfulfilling. Nobody guaranteed that relationships you were storing for after college would fail.


Independence is a toxic kind of beauty


You will feel the disappointment creeping up the back of your skull as the graduation curtains close and the excitement dies down. When the veil lifts, truth will hit you square in the face. While everyone else is excelling in their field, you are uninspired, transient, and static. You assumed they were, but some of us are simply equally trapped in the same small void.

I still remember how clear my goals were: I would acquire a job, go to law school, support my family, and maintain strong bonds with my peers and spouse.

My vision also included the need to work overtime in order to be financially secure. As I looked at my unfinished checklist, I was already beginning to feel anxious. I continued and increased my speed. I changed my residency, took on side jobs, and searched for scholarships at other law schools. The typical emotional breakdowns brought on by missing one's home and ending relationships go along with this. E-V-E-R-Y-D-A-Y I get out of bed since these thoughts are weighing heavily on me. As time went on, the feeling of low worth and undesired grew heavier and heavier.

I was so focused on achieving my goals that I wasn't aware of how much pressure my heart was under. It took me months of having a bad attitude and having exhausted mornings before I made the decision to sit back, have a chat with myself, and consider my choices.


Toxicity is internal


I made the decision to take a moment to relax. I can't keep standing up for causes that don't concern me. I'm only 21. Holy crap. I've come across people who haven't quite figured out life in their 30s, 40s, and even 50s.

We can all achieve our objectives and find happiness when it is appropriate. While we contemplate the meaning of our own existence, it is vital to first take pleasure in the growth. Even if improvement may be incremental, it is what happens in between that counts.

Because not everyone will genuinely treat you with kindness, be kind to yourself. Be brave enough to quit when it is no longer worthwhile, and similarly, patiently absorb rejection's lessons.

Relax, my dear new graduates. Don't compromise your happiness for hurried choices. You see, in this very humiliating post-graduation environment, all that you deserve is true happiness that you have earned through time via your own sacrifices. "There are no secure jobs or stable lives, but there are stable people, and stable people are happy people."

Thanks for reading.


CC,

@whitestallion
@campusconnectng

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thank you, @mondraye for making this quality post in our community today.
We hope to read more of your quality contents

Criteria RemarkGrade
Quality1.5 /3
Markdown/presentation1.5/2.5
#clubclub50/75/1001 /1
Verified user1/1
Plagiarism free1/1
#steemexclusive1 /1
Bot free0.5/0.5
Total-7.5/10
 2 years ago 

Hello @mondraye, thanks for publishing this post in Campus Connect community,

Your post has been supported using Campus Connect Curation account.

Keep publishing original and quality posts in Campus Connect community.

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPTpz7Uq5ujHgG4nBFxBmGTKURwn9hGbB3jzG2jac9Sd5A7HYfy1ne3WpQ2kRVkj3jqhCeMGVux (1).png

Curated by : @jueco

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60880.00
ETH 2626.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57