Campus Connect Nigeria Weekly Contest- Week 3-Making Changes - Total Prize Pool of 30 Steem.steemCreated with Sketch.

Hello beautiful and wonderful steemains members I greet you all. I also greet the admin of campusconnect community.

On our last assignment we were ask to talk about our various universities, I know am not into University but am schooling in Federal Polytechnic Oko Anambra state. As a new steem member I particpated lately after the announment of the winners was made. but I wrote about my school federal polytecnic Oko and I remembered I made a comment to campusconnect that when the next contest will start that I will participate and which am doing today. So thank you very much sir for the another wonderful opportunity.

OKOPOLY.jpg
image source

I said alot of good things about my school and improvements that had been added to the school, environments. I can proudly say that Federal polytechnic Oko is one of the best polytevhnic so far I know of, conpared to other polys in Nigeria.
Many polytecnics schools including universities suffers different kind of violence from cults or gangs e.t.c. in schools. Federal Polytechnic Oko that used to have different kinds, names of culties, sexual harrestment by some gangs or even wicked lectureral resolved the issues long time ago, and because of that students of ok now have free mind to go out and come back saftly, We have good infrastructures and good lectureral who teaches very well and making sure there students understands every step of their teachings, though the school fees of Ok is cheap which is #30,500, and accommodation is very expensive, a selfcon apartment which is just room bathroom and kitchen is cost #120,000, but a single room is from #50,000-60,000, I remember when I got admission was doing my clearance too some one told me that everything in Federal poly oko is money, I never understood that till I began to reasons of that statement, many student that could not afford the the accommodation fees do look for who to stay with as roommate. While students that has the money for accommodation pay some with roommates but some prefer living alone. Federal Polytechnic Oko is a nice school but the accommodation and the rate of food stuffs in the market is just what piss most people up. But when the news got to our rector things like cost of accomodation was resolved now selfcon is #85,000 while a single room is #45,000.
So if I should calculate the cost of everything I spent when I got adminsion into Federal polytechnic Oko it cost me #200,000. That was one of the reasons I love my school because it didn't cost me more than I expected.

Federal polytecnic Oko faces a few problems which i will mention below.
Which are :

  1. bad roads.
  2. overpulations.
  3. lake of good waters.
  4. Strikes etc.

INADEQUATE INFASTRUTURES.

img-20181110-wa00191555480894.jpg
image source

I remember on several occasions there have different meetings between our rector and members of ministry of work and education

The Rector of the Federal Polytechnic, Oko, Anambra State, Dr Francisca Nwafulugo, has said the institution is in dire need of infrastructural development.

Nwafulugo stated this during the inauguration of a 1.23km road in the institution by the Federal Ministry of Works.

She implored the Federal Government to come to the institution’s aid by executing a 1.5km road in the institution to open up unexplored lands within the campus.

img-20181110-wa00181842462767.jpg
image source

The rector said the proposed road was key to the development of other infrastructures on campus.

She said, “We quite appreciate this commendable project by the Federal Ministry of Works.

“However, the Polytechnic is still in dire need of infrastructural development including more access roads.

“May I appeal to the Federal Ministry of Works to still come to our aid by executing an access road of about 1.5km linking the end of this new road to the proposed students hostels, behind the new auditorium.

“This will enable us to open up the other side of the unexploited lands within the campus. More is also needed at the other campuses: Ufuma and Atani.”

The Minister of Works, Mr Babatunde Fashola, in his address said the education sector would be ineffectual without adequate infrastructure, such as roads.

He said, “While it is true that lot of work needs to be done in many sectors of our national life including education, the Buhari government has stepped up to lead the process of getting that work done.

“The gap of our infrastructure needs is steadily being bridged by a gradual process of repairs, renewal and construction on major highways and it has reached the schools.”

And today many roads are constructed in my school but few are still remain.

COMPETENT LECTURERS AND BETTER DEPARTMENTAL PROCEDURES

Most Lectures in my school are over the age of teaching as they are very week to move around when teaching, a lecturer who Lectures a class of 500 student and stays only in the front will not expect those behind to here what he/she is teaching so I speak that the ministry of education see to the resolving of over aged staff and recruit young, qualified and vibrant lecturers.

pictures-of-stu-1280x720.jpg
image source

WELL EQUIPPED AND BETTER SPORTS COMPLEX

This goes to the people in charge of sport In my school , the only sport done is football and body fitness also with road work , there is no field for all of these sport so I want those in charge of sport to make rooms for all the equipment that is needed for different sports i also urge that the sechool should bulid a field for sports In the school.

ACCOUNTABLE STUDENT UNIONS
We need a student Union Government who will be there for the student who is always ready to take our complaint to the school authority. As at now the student are Still protesting and urging the administrator to make way for a new and Willing Student Union Government that will be ready to carry his duties dilligently.

If all this is done, I can assure you that students will have alot of time to carry out their daily activities in school and concentrate more.

Thanks for visiting and reading

Cc
@steemcurator01
@steemcurator02
@campusconnectng
@whitestallion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49