I Was a Gentle Boy In School, But I Got To Trouble Due To My Greediness

in CampusConnect2 years ago (edited)

In my secondary school days, I was not a ruckus maker. Due to my nature as a polite and reserved youngster, I wasn't either troublesome or a troublemaker. I considered myself to be the ugliest student in the class, therefore I always buried my face in a corner. As a result of low self-esteem and believed that nobody would like me, especially the girls, I keep to myself in my locker and avoid social situations. I go to one of Ogun State's most well-known public community schools.

education-3670453_1280.jpg

Pixabay

To make things worst! I was the shortest boy in my class, and despite the fact that my uniform was always larger than my body, I frequently felt ashamed of myself. My parents made the large uniform on purpose for me to wear while the other kids wore theirs, which was incredibly flattering and caused girls to chase after them. Being alone without a female friend made me feel awful.

However, I ran into trouble! My dad and the head teacher disciplined me. How did I end up in such a problem when I don't cause trouble or make noise?

I did have two casual friends in my class, though. One of them is from Ghana, and the other is an Igbo boy. The name of this young Ghanaian is Joseph Kokutse. Due to the fact that I can never forget someone who caused me to go into such a problem, I can still recall his last name.

He is a simple, kind child who practices his religion, just like me. He always took advantage of the chance to share the gospel with us in class, and the majority of us made fun of him.

He came to me one day and handed me some cash to help keep for him. Although I can't recall, it was more than 5,000 naira. He claimed that if it were in his possession, he would spend it and that he wanted to keep storing it in my hand.

I grinned as I gave him a look. Wait! You believe I was the best person to help you save your money because you don't want to spend it. I said to myself. He then said, "I trust you."

Me as I understand myself. Money doesn't stay in my palm for too long... I'll put it to use. I never saved any money back then because of this.

I returned home with my friend's money. My younger sister came to visit us at that time since she was staying with one of our aunts in an estate in Lagos State. She had a phone, and I was envious because I wasn't using one, unlike my younger sister. I made the decision to purchase a phone with my friend's money. Back then, a new Nokia phone just costs 5000.

My parents must not have known I had a phone because I was keeping it from them. I was in class one day after a number of weeks had passed when Joseph came to say that he wanted to borrow some money for a crucial matter. Since I had no idea what to say or how to get the money back, I was really shaking inside.

I assured her that I was not carrying the money but would bring it the following week. I went to school on the first day of the next week. I formed a lie as soon as I caught a glimpse of her, saying that I was in a rush to catch a bus and had forgotten to pick up the money off the table. Once more, I promised her that I'll bring it tomorrow.

moren-hsu-VLaKsTkmVhk-unsplash.jpg

Pixabay

When I went home, I was planning a number of things, including how to get her money back after I had already purchased a phone.

My Dad saw the phone as I was too sluggish to keep it when he entered since God would catch me. He inquired as to how I acquired the phone. I told a lie that I saw it on the floor. "With the charger and pack also?", my father enquired. Since I was staring at him with sorrowful eyes, I believe he already knew who I was. That day, he belted the crap out of me till I eventually spoke the truth, but Dad didn't believe me because my falsehoods were too great for him to accept the reality.

The following day, he made the choice to accompany me to school, which got me into more problems. Dad requested that I call the Joseph once we arrived at school. When he inquired as to whether or not he had given me money to keep, Joseph responded in the affirmative. As a result, Dad exposed me in front of all the students.

With Dad's heavy slap following, I was introduced to a new dimension and a new planet. In front of all the gorgeous girls that day, I felt embarrassed and disgraced.

The head teacher urged me to go to his office while my father gave Joseph 4,000 naira out of the 5,000 naira.

In his office, I was forced to lie flat on a long table, and he gave me a whipping I'll never forget. I received punishment from my class teacher as well.

My friend learned a valuable lesson by never giving me money to keep again because Dad didn't paid the last 1,000 naira until now.


The Moral Of The Story


In the end, telling the truth is crucial, and you should always be honest with your parents or other adults who can provide guidance. You can learn from my experience; if I had told my dad the truth about the phone and how I had managed to acquire the money for it, I wouldn't have been disciplined by him and my teachers at school.

This experience has really build my self development, and when practically everything in the outside world seems to be working against me and isn't going my way at the proper time, I didn't let that get to me. My self-development has advanced significantly since I was able to stand on my own two feet and make appropriate use of my previous experience.

I hope you've learnt one or two things for my story, always be honest with who ever you're staying with, this will help you to avoid any issue or trouble.

Thanks for reading

Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04.

Curated By - @simonnwigwe

Curation Team - The Efficient Seven

 2 years ago 

Hello @mbemba2310, thanks for publishing this post in Campus Connect community,

Your post has been supported using Campus Connect Curation account.

Keep publishing original and quality posts in Campus Connect community.

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPTpz7Uq5ujHgG4nBFxBmGTKURwn9hGbB3jzG2jac9Sd5A7HYfy1ne3WpQ2kRVkj3jqhCeMGVux (1).png

Curated by : @jueco

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67692.69
ETH 3797.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51