Campus Connect Weekly Contest- Week 2- The Big Competition @marita-mbamara

4EA2B4D9-417A-4DFD-9FF1-587BF8ABEF70.jpeg
source

Lost in deep thoughts, calculating and practicing how I would approach my departmental team members to inform them of my absence on the day of the competition. I know they would get discouraged since I’m the captain of the volleyball team for both gender in my school and they believe I am the best player so I really need to think of a way to encourage them to go for the competition with courage,determination, zeal and with a positive mindset even though I would not be present on the day of the competition.

Urghhh!!!!! I groaned. Why is nothing coming to my head? I thought outwardly as I placed my hand on my head as I sign of frustration. “Come on ! Marita, think think think...” said the voice in my head.

Marita! Marita!!... Jeezzzzz! @ceendy04 called to get my attention but I was deeply lost in thought.
Marita!!!...the final call of my name drew me out of my riverie.

Yes?... I turned to see who called me.
“Finally!!! “She murmured as she rolled her eyes.@ceendy04 has been my closest friend since I joined steemit community college and we both joined the volleyball club together. We were the best but I was better at it than she was since I have more experience in it as I have been representing my previous school in international competitions and always won first place so this gave me an edge in my school and lo and behold I lived to my name, always topping my games and finally I became the captain of my team.

“Oh @ceendy04, it’s you... sorry I was a little bit lost in thought”. I replied while trying to avoid having eye contact with her.
“No no no, from what I have known so far... that’s not ‘a little bit’ lost in thought expression. I mean I shouted your name 3 good times before you replied and I know that’s not you. So now tell me what exactly is bothering you?”she said to me while giving me a concerned and determined look.
Having been close to her for awhile,I know she won’t let go until I tell her what’s bothering me so she left me with no choice but to let her know of what’s been eating me up for days.
Urghhh!!!. I groaned since I’ve been doing that lately. I turned facing her properly on the relaxation seat in the Faculty hall just to read her facial expression while I told her my predicament. After informing her of my supposed absence from the competition which was in a week’s time. I saw that she hid all her expression so I know she’s shocked and at the same time finding a solution which is why I love her but that didn’t remove the antsy feeling because I still haven’t told the rest of the team.

So...? I asked impatiently.
She looked at me and said I should just be myself and tell them exactly why I won’t be available on the day of the event and also encourage them as we are sure they would be discouraged by the information.

“Hmmmmm”... I sighed.
“What...?”. She asked.
Looking at her with a puppy dog’s face, I told her she was of no help to me. She laughed and said I would be fine and everything would be alright which made me smile and ended up giving her a hug.
“Thank you”... I said while hugging her.
“Huh?... for what?”...she replied.
“Making me smile even though you were of no help to me”. I said while releasing myself from her hug.
“Uhhhh! “She gasped , then decided to chase me down to the hostel where we parted ways laughing hysterically.

AA28242C-F8BB-48FF-BBA1-20B843E8EEE8.jpeg
source

Two days later, after going through the words of @ceendy04 the other day, I decided to call for a meeting at the gym in school. After practice, I told everyone to wait behind for the meeting.
With sweaty hands and body, I told them that I won’t be present for the competition due to the fact that i would be traveling to Canada for a writing competition which comes with a package deal of becoming a student intern in a publishing company.
Having told them my reason, they all gasped in shock and some in disappointment.
@wesperjordan who is also good in the game decided at that moment to speak for all.
What now?... we definitely cannot go without you? We were only positive about this because you were going to play with us. You know we cannot win now. Why are you telling us this now?. After voicing out his questions, he sat down like the rest and listened to what I would reply. I knew within then and there that whatever I said now would either make or mar their decision on the competition. I was disappointed and sad that they thought they couldn’t do it without me even though I knew that’s how they would feel. It was at that moment that it became a reality check for me to make them see light in going without me to the competition.
“Now listen up ladies and gentlemen ”. I said with great authority and they all quiet down their murmurs.
“It truly saddens me that I would be leaving you guys for a while but do not let it be a reason for your failure. I know that this wasn’t this plan but plans do change and we make decisions to adjust to the change. I’m leaving for an opportunity I wouldn’t like to miss and I know deep within you that you wouldn’t want me to miss it . We have been together for almost 2 years and it has been my best moments and I wouldn’t wish not experiencing it over and over again. Throughout the years, I have trained with you guys , we have gone for competitions both local and international and we never came back without an award. Now let me ask you all this important question and I would want you all to answer it sincerely”
The previous competitions we have won, wasn’t it not a team’s game or was it a one-man game?
“No!!!!...definitely a team’s game”. They chorused.
“Good answer”. I replied.
“Each and everyone of you are excellent in this sport. If you weren’t good, you wouldn’t be in this room right now so even without me, you guys can power yourselves up and decide to go for this competition and win. The goal is to be confident, determined and zealous while on the field then every other thing would come to place. I couldn’t do it without you guys, you were all my backbones to be very honest. If i were a selfish player I don’t think I would have come this far, teamwork was the key to my success so with or without me I know you guys would definitely be the best because you all are excellent in your various positions in the game. I need you all to drop this attitude of you can’t do it because I know you all can if you work together as a team and work harder than you have ever worked because there’s nothing for a lazy man. I would miss you all dearly, I will definitely be back but for the period I won’t be with you all, I want you all to promise me that nothing would discourage you because you can do it if you believe and I believe in you all”.

After my little speech, the silence was deafening and it made me a little paranoid and agitated. I thought my little speech was in vain until I heard a clap from one of my teammates and then everyone joined in clapping. I felt so proud of my teammates at that moment.
“I love you all, I know you can do it. I believe in you all”. I said while giving them my beguiling smile.
“We believe in us” and “we love you”. They chorused happily.
Hugs were shared and our club song was sang as we all said the infamous “I will miss you” to each other with joy and gladness in our hearts. I to them and they to me.
After the excitement has died down,the meeting ended and everyone started leaving till I was left with @ceendy04 and @wesperjordan
“I told you just be you... didn’t I ?”. @ceendy04 said while looking at me surreptitiously.
“Yeah whatever” I giggled as we all left the gym gushing about my trip to Canada.

8B077958-FB0C-4F82-A807-D939B6DEFE09.jpeg
source

On the day of the competition, I became anxious while watching the game on my tablet. I wasn’t scared for my team losing rather I was anxious to see if they would really trust each other as teammates. The game finally ended with great jubilation. I jumped and screamed while cheering my team, tears of joy rolled down my eyes. My team( both male and female )came first in the local volleyball game competition which was the talk of the town competition...the big competition.
“They won...yes! I knew it” I shouted at the top of my voice. Truly, it’s not the team with the best players that wins but those with the best team who trusts and support each other.

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

Yesss I love this story. Like a scene from a movie. Especially the clapping part
I was expecting a twist but still, awesome story!

Thank you for this. Yeah I wanted to add a twist but then I thought ...why not make it a happy ending story? So , I decided a happy ending would be more encouraging. Thanks again

This is amazing, the same way you came up with a very story. You are a very good writer. Kudos on your win.

Congrats, well deserved.. Was tryna skim the article, found myself spellbound,had to finish it in Ernest.

Thank you. I really appreciate

You have been upvoted by @whitestallion and I’m voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator04 account to support African authors with original and quality content.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58111.37
ETH 2571.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47