Campus Connect Nigeria Weekly Contest- Week 1- Tell us about your University by @marita-mbamara

Of the greatest Nigerian students!!! Great!!! Of the greatest gbo gbo!!!! Great!!!.
The above is a praise/ greeting most Nigerian student leaders use in hailing the students in their various universities, mine is not excluded.
The name of my university is the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, popularly know as UNN. It is referred to as the den as it has a lion image as it’s emblem.It is the first Federal university established in Nigeria. It was established in the year 1955 and was opened for admission in the year 1960 by Nnamdi Azikiwe who was the first president of Nigeria. The motto is ‘to restore the dignity of man’.

CEE321E5-57CE-425A-AABC-4608AF60AD34.jpeg
source

University of Nigeria is divided into 4 campuses, the university of Nigeria, Nsukka( the main
campus) followed by the university of Nigeria, Enugu campus, then the teaching hospital, itukku ozalla and lastly the University of Nigeria, Aba campus.

E0F51290-E25E-4090-BBBB-3C00F3588170.jpeg
source

I am a student of University of Nigeria, Enugu Campus. A 400l Management student. My campus is located in the Eastern part of Nigeria, precisely Enugu state. Enugu Campus is situated inside Enugu town behind Independence layout. It comprises of 7 faculties namely Faculty of Law, Faculty of Business Administration, Faculty of Medicine and Surgery, Faculty of Health sciences, Faculty of Environmental Studies, Faculty of Dentistry, Faculty of Basic sciences and a total of 17 departments. Each faculty has a total number of 4 departments namely Faculty of Business Administration comprises of Departments of Accounting, Banking and Finance, Management and Marketing; Faculty of Health sciences comprises of Departments of Nursing, Medical Radiography, Medical Rehabilitation and Medical Laboratory; Faculty of environmental studies comprises of Departments of Architecture, survey, Urban and regional planning and Estate management except from the faculty of Law which stands as a department on its own, faculty of medicine and surgery, faculty of dentistry, faculty of basic medical sciences which comprises of 2 departments namely department of Anatomy and department of physiology. Every faculty has its dress code as the campus is mainly for professionals courses. Law dress code is White on Black, For Business Administration it is Sky blue on Navy blue or Black, Medical department and Basic medical science, it is White on Ash, Health sciences dress code is White on Black for the guys while for the ladies, it is a white Medical gown. Only the Faculty of Environmental studies does not have a unified dress code.

18BA2211-9501-469B-B19E-E06EA8199E3A.jpeg
source

My campus has a total number of 7 hostels. 2 boys hostels namely Mbaonu Ejike popularly know as GH and Kenneth Dike popularly known as IJ and 5 girls hostel namely Lady Ibiam, Mariere, Manuwa, Ojukwu and New hostel.

It is well known for the infamous Love Garden which is located at the Faculty of Environmental studies. Love garden as the name entails, is a place where students go at night to ‘hangout’ especially those in romantic relationships or in aspiring relationships. There are church buildings located in my campus , they are St. Mulumba which is a Catholic Church and also The Chapel of Redemption , the Anglican Church. The Victory/ Vigil ground cannot be left out. It is an empty field where students go to pray. Close to this Victory ground is the Access bank. There are just 2 banks in my campus, the United bank of Africa (UBA) and Access bank.

WHY I CHOSE MY UNIVERSITY

I had the passion of attending the University of Nigeria right from my Senior secondary school days. I heard good things about the school ranging from its academic achievements and excellence to it’s social activities so with that I had to set a pace for myself. I always want the best for myself so I decided to choose UNN as my first choice. Lo and behold, I gained admission into the school and I discovered that it is not only known for its academic achievements and excellence but also the spiritual aspects of students. To survive in my school you need God plus your hard work and dedication to your studies.

My school has always been the best and among the leading federal universities in Nigeria. Recently a student from the department of Law won a national essay competition and was recognized on national television. The representatives of my school in different competitions always comes out first or if not first position , among the best.

With the above achievements mentioned, you can also conclude with me that my school has always been representing amongst other universities.

I’m so happy for this great opportunity to participate in this contest. Special thanks to @campusconnectng for organizing this contest. I hope my readers had fun while reading and gained a few knowledge about my school.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Confirmed and verified.

You have been upvoted by @whitestallion and I’m voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator04 account to support African authors with original and quality content.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68338.18
ETH 2645.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69