CampusConnect Nigeria Weekly Contest- Week 1-Tell us about your University// Entry By @lhorgic.

in CampusConnect3 years ago

Hello friends, my name is DIBIE CHRISTIAN. E @lhorgic and am super excited first to be part of this community and also happy to be part of the first contest organized by this community.I won't fail to acknowledge the effort of @whitestallion in setting up @campusconnect. I know with time we will experience tremendous growth here.

My entry will be based on the following heading as stated in the guildlines for the contest.

MY SCHOOL AND IT LOCATION.
The name of my school is The Polytechnic, Ibadan also know as "Poly Ibadan" it is situated at sango - eleyele road Ibadan in Oyo State, Nigeria. My school was founded in 1970. The polytechnic Ibadan was established to provide an alternative higher education to universities, especially in the area of skill acquisition and technical eduacation. The Polytechnic Ibadan is also well known for its unique slogan written in Yoruba language as "ise loogun ise" meaning Hardwork is the way out of poverty.

6400c0e6651b3d48e4acbe313adfe739.jpg

Image Source

Main gate.

My school has five (5) faculties with several departments under them as seen below.
Faculty of Engineering

  • Civil Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Computer Engineering
  • Mechatronics

Faculty of Science

  • Science Laboratory Technology
  • Biology and Microbiology
  • Applied Chemistry
  • Biochemistry
  • Physics with Electronics
  • Geology
  • Computer Science
  • Statistics

Faculty of Environmental Studies

  • Architecture
  • Urban and Regional Planning
  • Estate Management
  • Quantity Surveying
  • Building Technology
  • Painting and Sculpture
  • Industrial Design
  • Graphics & Printing
  • Land Surveying and Geoinformatics

Faculty of Financial Management Science

  • Accountancy
  • Banking and Finance
  • Insurance

Faculty of Business and Communication Science

  • Mass Communication
  • Marketing
  • Business Administration
  • Office Technology Management
  • Purchasing and Supply
  • Local Government Studies
  • Public Administration

539fb05182825867423d674e56b0f46c.jpg

Image Source

*Central administrative building*

OUR EMBLEM

6da289428dc1f4db2fa97fa0d3151e6b.jpg

Image Source

The motto (ise loogun ise) of my institution as seen in that emblem is a Yoruba statement which means "Hardwork is the way out of poverty" and that has been working for the institution.

WHY I CHOSE MY SCHOOL.
I must be very real and truthful at this point,I never chose my school as my first choice of institution,It was actually my second choice because it was a Polytechnics,of course I chose it as second because it one of the best in Nigeria.I chose a particular university as my first choice but I couldn't meet up with the demand and then had to fall back to the one am.in presently;The polytechnic Ibadan.

Choosing it was not a mistake.All over Nigeria,my school is one of the best Polytechnic as it's numbered among the first 5 in this country and has a very good reputation anytime, anywhere especially in the south western part of Nigeria.

WHY MY SCHOOL IS THE BEST.
No doubt about this,I know my school is one of the best in this nation,we've been ranked again and again,year in year out because of what we stand for. Below are some of the reasons why I consider my school as the best.

We are known for practicals.
We don't just base what we do here on theory but on practical so that even after leaving the four walls of the institution,we can stand independently and be productive anywhere we find ourselves. Our product are everywhere scattered all over this nation making impact and contributing their own quota to national development

My school encourages hardwork.
With all humility,I will say that no lazy man can successfully complete his or her program in my school. The system has been designed in such a way that it fishes and forces out lazy student because they ain't needed in the system.

Like I said while explaining what was written on the emblem of my school; ise loogun ise meaning Hardwork is the way out of wretchedness,lack and poverty. You start the hardwork right there and then,my school sees it as a form of training that will sustain you even when you're out of the system.

Standard grading system
Prior to this year and the previous one (2020), my school grade our results using 5.0 points like a normal university will use instead of 4.0 ,so we are trained to level up with other big institution and this has always instilled in us a level of confidence because we know we're different.

A condusive lecture room
Our lecture rooms are good and condusive, even the ones that looks old are from time to time checked for renovations and more lecture halls are being built to accomdate more student and to improve learning process.

a3c5d720b86f0413bb6cbe0ca03e0ea1.jpg

Image Source

1000 capacity lecture hall

Qualified lecturers
I can boldly say that my lecturers are the best,we have qualified lecturers that are well trained,they have bagged a lot of professional certificate which gives them an edge in their field and portray them as an authority in their field. They are really good I must say and I can say this anywhere and anytime.

Peculiarity ( The article "The" )
My school is the only polytechnic with the article "THE" used before the polytechnic (The Polytechnic Ibadan) ,making it unique and different from every other.

Two other schools have started using the article "THE" but guess what,they were our satellite campus before they became independent 5 years ago and then modified their names. They couldn't have carried our name without being part of the family you know..smiles

A well structured Library system.
My school has a good library system to encourage the reading culture amidst student. We have a central library and some other sub - library even in the departmental and faculty level stocked with educational materials just to aid learning and academic productivity.

d82809e0cfa0d5b46875c739bbfb89f9.jpg

Image Source

Central Library.

Our commitment to sporting activities
When it comes to sport my school has always been up and doing,it give room for both leisure and work..you know that saying "all work and no play,makes jack a dull boy" lols.. There should be balance in all we do,as much as we want to work,we should also create time for leisure too and my school has really been doing well in this area compared to many other institution that doesn't know how to strike a balance in this aspect.

So much has been said concerning my school. I will like to show you some nice places in my school

e92bc9cd89aa87afb6b30be0ceb1abd2.jpg

Image Source

Assembly Hall

2869ef477387a34f6e793d52b1dcf55e.jpg

Image Source

Main entrance on a wider range.

8a9ccac8fd5412457c2b53f915cd6a84.jpg

Image Source

Information Technology building

I will like to wrap it up here before I start making some of you feel you're in the wrong school lols...of course my school is the best and I can say it anywhere because it is what I know.

Thanks for reading through.

Cc: @whitestallion

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hello @lhorgic, you have made a great post and your entry has been successfully submitted.

Thank you for participating in this contest.

You have been upvoted by @whitestallion and I’m voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator04 account to support African authors with original and quality content.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59244.75
ETH 2651.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49