CONTEST: RECOMMENDED YOUR CURRENT SCHOOL TO A FRIEND.

in CampusConnect3 years ago (edited)

Greetings everyone,
I am happy am taking part in this contest. I am a new member in this community and I would want to thank @starrchris for the invite.
I appreciate @campusconnectng for this contest as well.

Tell about your current school’s name and location

738B2FED-D0CF-4EE1-B327-79983F77F258.jpeg
source

I am a student at Makerere University Business School doing a Bachelor’s degree in Finance and I am in my second year. Mubs is located in Nakawa. It is a very nice public university and I would recommend all my friends who want to do business courses to join it. It ventures in business related courses but the main branch is Makerere University which has a variety of other courses for example Art, teaching, architecture, agriculture, doctorate courses and many others.

Necessary documents required to get admission
To become a student at Mubs, you must have the needed documents so that your admission is considered. The requirements needed are as below;

• You must have passed your A’level with 10 points and above
• Application fee of 30,000ugx
• Two passport size photos
• A photocopy of your birth certificate
• A photocopy of your O’level pass slip(certificate)
• A photocopy of your A’level pass slip(certificate)
• Former school identity card.

Cut of points required for a year one student
At Mubs, there are very many business courses and all of them have different cut off points. Usually if you passed your business subject in the combination you were doing in A’level and u also passed General paper(Gp) and Mathematics, then you are at a high advantage of raising the cut off points. The cut off points for Finance are 30.

When I was applying, I had to calculate my cut off weights for different courses that I had applied for and I will show how I calculate the points.
You get the points you got and multiply them according to the category that subject falls.

For example I got a “C” in Economics and it is an essential subject. That means those are 3 points so I multiply my 3 points and the 3 that the essential subject(s) carries. You then have to calculate and add up so that you can get the total weights you have and see if they can enable you get your desirable course.

The combination you do might have 2essential subjects or 1. It can as well have 1 essential subject, no relevant subject and 2 desirable subjects depending on the course you want.

• Essential subjects carry (x3)
• Relevant subjects carry (x2)
• Desirable subjects carry (x1)
• And the (x1.5) point added for all girls in the country

My A’level combination was DEL/S.M +G.P which is;
Divinity, Economics, Literature, Sub Mathematics and General Paper.

8F464864-8F77-465D-971C-55806233E7DA.jpeg
The underlined marks were my weights for the different courses.

Current semester
I am in my first semester of year two.

Does your school have hostels?
Yes, my school has hostels for its students. Some of them include
• Akamwesi
• Old Ideal
• Ideal platinum
• Ideal classic
• Betsam
• Dofra
• Devine hostel
• Valley courts
• Samuel courts ...

Tuition amount and other dues for year one students

• Tuition is 1,404,000ugx
• Functional fees is 657,050ugx

All other dues fall under the functional fees.

I invite @muzito08, @amazing-grace and @iraguha to participate

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

@kyara2, really interesting and detailed post. I love how your post had every important information that a new student would be needing to apply there. What country are you from?

Thanks dear. Am from Uganda

Haaaa, mukwano. Me iam not a campuser right now. But I was, like some many years ago. Now I study online for my master's. Maybe I am a campuser after all, but I have never even been to the school I study from. Thanks for the invite though.

Ohhh okay dia

 3 years ago 

Nice entry, we loved how you explained how to calculate cut off points and how you performed for each course. Great post.

Congratulations your entry has been submitted successfully. Don't forget to join campus connect curation trail.

Yes. I am planning to join in this week

You have been curated by @yohan2on, a country representative (Uganda). We are curating using the steemcurator04 curator account to support steemians in Africa.

Keep creating good content on Steemit.

Always follow @ steemitblog for updates on steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26