EDUCATIONAL BENEFITS OF CHESS : Why should I play chess as a campus student?

in CampusConnect3 years ago (edited)

INTRODUCTION

Hello steemians, It's Kachi here again. I am a newbie to the steemit platform,but I am already beginning to enjoy my little time spent here . I explored and joined some of the communities on the platform relevant to me as a campus student with some recommendations based on my interests and aspirations.

Infact, I am already part of a one such big family,which has impressed me the most @campusconnectng, they really bring out the best out of each other . I'm proud of them and I feel in the right place.

So Why this Article, Kachi?

I was inspired to write an article on the relevance and benefits of playing chess especially as a undergraduate student because even though chess can boast as one the more popular games in the world, with " a population of 605 million adults playing chess regularly, and about 70% of the adult population (US, UK, Germany, Russia, India) has played chess at some point in their lives".
source
Yet sadly, so few understand the intricacies and dynamics of chess just enough to be able to tap into its vast benefits.
But at the end of this article, I hope to have rekindled a dying flame in you to play chess and reap it's numerous benefits especially as a campus undergraduate student.
Enjoy the ride.

A SCENE AT THE CAFE'

Below is an imaginary simulated conversation between me, Kachi and an interested person (Subject A) reading this article:

(Subject A meets me at a cafe` playing chess, engages me in a conversation,and he kept on palpating me with questions on why he should play chess and the benefits of chess relentlessly).

Hang on, keep scrolling to find out if his answers were satisfactorily answered.

IMG_20210914_143312.jpg

Subject A: Hey Kachi.

Kachi: Hello SUB A, how do you do?

SUB A: I'm fine,you?

Kachi: I'm good.

SUB A : I see you are playing chess.

Kachi : Yes I am, care to join?

SUB A: No, I don't play it well. It's such a boring game.

Kachi: Hahaha, It's not. It's actually fascinating and beautiful once you learn it properly.

SUB A : Haaaaaa.I doubt. I've tried that before. "Kachi, why should I waste my time learning chess ?"

KACHI: Because you can. You also gain a lot of health education benefits from learning it. Infact,you also get paid after learning it.

SUB A:( shocked) THAT'S NOT POSSIBLE!!!!

Kachi: It is and I will tell you how.

( Kachi orders soft drinks and chips for himself and SUB A and the conversation continue in between sips, gulps and crunches)

Kachi: I'm sure you must have heard that playing chess regularly results in better brain function, improved memory and cognitive abilities.

SUB A :(looks a bit disappointed) That's irrelevant my friend, I am always at the top of my class with many distinctions and good results to show for it but I don't play chess.

Kachi: Hahaha, calm down I'm not done. It also results to better strategic thinking and attention improvement.

SUB A:(thinks long and hard) Hmmmm, maybe I actually need better strategic thinking for my business in school and more attention to focus on my studies and girlfriend.

Kachi: There you go Friend, chess got your back.

SUB A: That's not enough to convince me though, I'm a very busy person. I don't have that time. What other things does it offer?

Kachi: Chess helps to develop creativity and teaches you how to develop problem solving skills

SUB A: ( A very curious expression on his face ) I don't see your point Kachi, how exactly does it do that?

Kachi: You already know Chess is a complex game with many possible moves and probabilities. It gives you room to be creative and explore those possibilities. You can apply this knowledge in ur academics too.

***SUB A ***:( sighs ) I hate to admit it but you are making sense.

Kachi: Yea I guess, also in chess is a big game of puzzles and most times you reach positions which requires you to find solutions in order to win the game, or gain an advantage. Constant practice of chess, can therefore assist you in developing real life problem solving skills.

SUB A:(wiggles excitedly in his seat) Ride on, This is amazing.

Kachi : Infact chess helps you to build your confidence and be calm under pressure, in spite of academic stress.

images (2).jpeg

source
SUB A: Wow, no wonder you are like this. I noticed it in you.

Kachi : Yea, that's my secret.(winks)

SUB A: I'm ready to learn, please teach me.

Kachi: Hold on, I am not done yet.Infact, when you learn chess,you can teach ur kids, it makes them smarter by developing their mathematical skills and pattern recognition.

SUB A: Wow, that's amazing but I don't have kids. I'm just a campus student.

Kachi: Well as a chess player my friend, I am able to predict that you will marry sometime in the future and have beautiful kids.

SUB A:(Blushes furiously)Awwwn.
But how then can I get paid by just learning to play chess??

Kachi: When your skills in chess are strong enough. You can join interschool,inter states and even international FIDE tournaments, of you get cash prizes when u win such tournaments.

SUB A: (screams out loud) WOW!!! PLEASE TEACH ME NOW!!!!

Kachi: Alright , I will but you will have to pay me first for the chess classes . Hahaha.

SUB A: I WILL DO ANYTHING TO LEARN IT.Wait ,wait, wait,
IS THIS ANOTHER WAY TO EARN through chess ?????

Kachi: Exactly,you are smart.(winks again)

SUB A : But I don't have money.

Kachi: Well, you can view some of my free tutorial articles which I might post on my blog on steemit platform or you meet me at home in ur spare time.

SUB A: Thank you so much, my Friend. Bye.

Kachi: See you later , Bye.

(Lights out)

CONCLUSION

Chess both as a hobby and a sport has vast benefits to offer individuals including campus students academically, financially and otherwise.I hope from the dialogue above you were able to pick up vital points. I highlighted most of the educational benefits in my post. You should understand, however, that constant practice which leads to understanding the dynamics and intricacies of the game is the key to unlocking it's benefits.
So why aren't you playing chess yet?
images (3).jpeg

source

Thank you.

ACKNOWLEDGMENT

Special thanks to @cryptokannon

@whitestallion

@campusconnectng

@omarion1

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Very nice write up bro. You really gave me reasons why I should venture into playing chess. Thanks a lot.

 3 years ago 

You are welcome chief. I'm glad I did.

 3 years ago 

Chess make one smart
Thank you for sharing this piece with us bro
Steem ON ✌️

 3 years ago 

U r welcome brother.

 3 years ago 

Really, chess playing not only improves brain activity but enables you think of your environment in a totally differemt way.
To Chess!

 3 years ago 

Cheers... thanks boss

Chess is an interesting game. I enjoy playing it

 3 years ago 

That's nice...we should spar sometime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68706.20
ETH 3751.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76