Campus Connect Engagement Contest Week 5 - Side Hustle On Campus As A Student by @jueco.

in CampusConnect2 years ago

wrist-watch-6091021__480.jpg
Source

Hello Campus friends,
It is a wonderful opportunity to be here before this great community to present my entry for this wonderful contest.

This contest aim at making us share what our side hustle is and how it has affected us on campus, and by doing so, other students can learn and emulate us.


INTRODUCTION

Life in the university is not what most people feel it is.
Before gaining admission to the university, I was told that the university is a place you go and catch fun, there are lots of events and it is stress free because you will have all that you want.

It was after I gained admission that I knew that campus was far from what I was told.

A lot of things go on on campus that even parents are not aware of, student starve, some drop out from campus just to feed, others are not able to afford necessary textbooks and this leads many into illegal act like cultism and other fraudulent activities while on campus.

Little wonder why parents, teachers and friends glamour on gaining a skill before going to the universities, as this will help students in so many ways.


WHAT IS HUSTLE

hen-5230334__480.jpg
Source

The word "hustle" can be explained to be a slang that is used to describe an hardwork done to provide financially for a person.

The slang "hustle" is mostly used by individuals that are involved in illegal jobs but as students on campus, that slang is understood to mean a job we use to survive on campus.

Side hustle can therefore be explained to be a job that is used to support the main job one has.

It can also be referred to be a backup plan for financial freedom.
For example, a lecturer also running a tutorial.
The lecturing job will be his main hustle while the tutorial will be his side hustle.

In the world we live in today, it is very important to have a side hustle, either being a student or not, but side hustle if not properly manage can have some effects on student life.

Follow along as we discuss the Importance and effects of side hustle.



ADVANTAGES OF SIDE HUSTLE TO A STUDENT LIFE

There are lots of Importance of side hustle and some of them are:

  • LESS DEPENDENT ON PARENTS:

This is one reason why many are in support of a side hustle.
A side hustle helps to reduce your dependent on your parents for funds.

On campus, there are usually lots of bills to be paid, and if one comes from a poor background, it will be difficult for ones parents to afford it.

So having a side hustle helps you to support yourself while on campus.

  • SAVES A STUDENT FROM CORRUPTING INFLUENCE:

Most of the illegal activities done on campus by Student today is for them to make some cash to take care of themselves.

Many students get involved in such activities because they have no other means of survival and most times this leads them to join a cult group.

If a student has a side hustle, he wouldn't be tempted to join a cult group or get involved in dispicable act, as his side hustle will help sustain him while on campus.

  • FACILITATE LEARNING:

Another reason why a side hustle is advantageous is that it helps a student get the needed educational materials on time and as such, he can read ahead of his lecturers.

Doing so will help fetch a student good grades and can even bring him a scholarship.
It will help make a student very bright and this is an added advantage to the nation.



DISADVANTAGES OF SIDE HUSTLE

Not disputing the fact that a side hustle on campus is very important, we cannot deny that it also has some challenges it impose on the Academic life of a student, some of them are:

  • IT BRINGS DISTRACTION:

Having a side hustle on campus can act as a form of distraction to a student in that sometime, he will have to skip classes just to complete a deal he has made with his client.

Another form of distraction can come when a student is really making cash from his side hustle, he will begin to give priority to his side hustle with the intention of bribing the lecturers for a good grade.

  • IT MAKES SCHOOL LIFE STRESSFUL

Another disadvantage of a side hustle on campus is that it can add to the stress a student faces on campus.

Truth be told, waking up early everyday and going to class can be stressful, imagine adding a side hustle to it, only the tough will be able to survive it.



WHAT IS YOUR SIDE HUSTLE

Having a side hustle is very advantageous as long as a student always examine himself and ensure that his Academic life is not being neglected.

As for me being a student, I have a couple of side hustles and they are :

  • STEEMIT

I won't deny the fact that steemit has been my number one side hustle on campus.

I joined steemit April 2021, and ever since then, my financial life on campus has increased a lot.

I have been able to afford lots of reading materials without disturbing my parents for funds.

One reason I allowed steemit become my side hustle is that I learn and earn at the same time on steemit.

And also, steemit doesn't require this hard labor, it can always be done at your leisure.

  • CRYPTOCURRENCY TRADING:

Another side hustle I had on campus was crypto trading.

I gained the basic knowledge of crypto trading from steemit crypto academy after which I furthered my education on it.

After several months of training, I became a Crypto trader and this has also been a form of hustle for me in campus.

Screenshot_20220815-135326.png
SCREENSHOT FROM MT4

Screenshot_20220802-200757_1.png
SCREENSHOT FROM MT4


As shown above is an analysis carried by me using the resistance level of a price chart and also using an rsi Indicator for confluence.

  • Also, I assist students with their research work and come other tough calculations on campus and I get compensated with some cash which I also use to take care of my academic expenses.

There was a time I had to dress up like a year one student so I can help a friend take a test since he wasn't around.

HOW DO YOU MERGE BOTH SIDE HUSTLE AND EDUCATION ON CAMPUS.

As rightly said, steemit and crypto trading are just side hustle and at the moment, my education remains my main hustle 😀.

I always ensure to check at the end of every day which of the hustle took my time.
I also reminded myself of the reasons why I came to school, I came to school to learn and not to make money.

I reminded myself that if I were not careful, my side hustle could take over my life, thus making my academic life suffer.

Inorder to keep things in check, I ensured to make quality post during my leisure.
I devoted most of my day time to attending lectures and my night time to making revision of what was taught by my lecturers.

Being in my second year, much wasn't required of me rather than personal studies and I ensured this was done every night.

My side hustle is one that doesn't take much of my time and as such, I didn't have much troubles combining them together, but one thing I ensured was to give priority to my academics.

HOW MANY HOURS TO DO YOU WORK A WEEK ON YOUR SIDE HUSTLE.

My side hustle doesn't really take much of my time since it is more of brain work than man power.

I don't really check how long I spend on my side hustle but I am definitely sure it takes little of my time.

For steemit, I ensure to make at least 1 post daily and this takes up to an hour or two depending on the quality of the post.

When I was in school, the steemit crypto academy project was active and this usually take me 3hours per post.

I ensure to make the post whenever I'm chanced but it doesn't interfare with my night reading.

Roughly, I spend 2 hours daily on steemit which amount to 14hours weekly.


My crypto trading does take more time than steemit, before trading, I spend couple of hours going through YouTube, analysing charts and then waiting for confluence and confirmation on my charts.

Roughly I spend 2hours hours on my crypto trading but it is usually done on weekends so it won't interfare with my academics.

CONCLUSION

Having a side hustle on campus is very necessary as it doesn't only provide funds but also give a student the experience.

As a student, most times our paper qualifications are not enough to get us a stable job, as we will need some extra experience, and this can be gotten from our side hustle.

I will advise all student to get a side hustle if possible so as to reduce their reliance on their parents.

Sort:  

Your post is quite interesting to read, giving the advantage and disadvantage of having side hustles on campus.

As you rightly said, Side hustle is necessary for students to keep up financially in school with little dependence on their parents.

I enjoyed reading your post.

 2 years ago 

Thank you @afunkycares for this detailed comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62