Campus Connect Week 27 Contest- Skilling up as a college student || by @josantos

in CampusConnect2 years ago
I welcome you all to this week's number 27 contest organised by the campus connect the community. This very week the community has organised a contest titled Skilling up as a college student. I'm to make my entry on the said topic, please read through it and have fun.

It's no longer a story that the world population is increasing by the day and new technology is coming up on daily basis as well. With the coming of this technology, working is becoming easier and faster but a lot of people are left without a job to do because the work that was supposed to be done by 10 people is now done by just one person using modern technology.

In our country Nigeria today, there are no jobs most especially for the common man. Thousands of graduates come out of the University and higher places of learning every day with no jobs to hold on to. No wonder the schools across Nigeria have introduced entrepreneurship as a course that all University students must do despite their course of studies.

As college students, sometimes we tend to ask ourselves questions regarding what our fate will be after graduating from the higher institution of learning when we are not certain that there is a government job anywhere waiting for us. It's in this regard that we are always advised to skill up so that we can be self-employed even after our studies here.

Shoe Making and design

images (2).jpeg

Source

A lot of people may think that the shoemaking business is meant for those who are not educated or those who did not go to higher institutions. Well to me those are the skills I want to learn. As a college student, I have a friend of mine who is sponsoring himself and the work he does is shoemaking.

When I saw how this young man always did this job with happiness, I decided to pick an interest in it. As a student, he does not lack anything at all and he always sponsors his bills without depending on anyone. During my little stay with him, I have learnt a lot and for that reason, I picked an interest in the skills.

Just last week, I made my intention known to my friend that I will love to learn the skill as well. I have also made a little commitment I.e the amount needed to start the work. As a friend, he decided to collect the sum of #30,000 from me to teach me the job. Though in my part we have made arrangements that I will be starting the work immediately after the school vacate. I did it this way because I don't want to combine the academic stress and the learning of the shoemaking job. Though he advised that anytime I am disposed I should always come to the shop to learn one thing or the other.

I intend to put my all to learn this work because there is a lot of money in the work if and only if you know how to do the work very well. I am a witness to the sale of some of the shoes made by this friend of mine. Some days he makes sales of about #50,000 or more. I have always witnessed some shoes that are made that are far more qualified than those in the boutique.

Conclusion

I want to believe that acquiring these shoemaking skills will go a long way in helping me in the college and outside the college. Being an educated person, I believe I will do better once I have learned these skills. I am planning on how to expand my business after learning about the entire world. I will make sure I upload all the works online and on the steemit platform most especially. I will try educating fellow steemians on how to make these shoes at their various homes as well.

Sort:  
Your post has been successfully curated by our team via @chiabertrand at 30%. Thank you for your committed efforts, we invite you to do more and continue to post high-quality posts for a chance to win a valuable upvote from our curating team and why not be selected for an additional upvote later this week in our Top Seven

Note: Always use the tag #fintech to quickly access your post
 2 years ago 

@josantos, Thanks for sharing with us on @campusconnect Thanks

This post was upvoted by @dayographix using community account.

 2 years ago 

I believe that people underrated shoemaking. With the necessary equipment, creative mind and right market, you will have nothing to worry about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14