The School Life I Prefer by @jdkeys

in CampusConnect2 years ago


20220824_063047_0000.png

background image from canva

Good day @goodybest and My fellow steemians, It's such a privilege to be able to share this write up on this platform once again. Learning is a continuous process, that is why humans move from one level of academic success to another. Looking back to both my high school and college life, I would say they are similar and fun in their own ways, but I learned different and great lessons from each life.

Tell us about both your high school and college college life

Thinking back to my high school days, I was pretty much choked with school work, classes, and other school activities I participated in. Unlike high school, my college days were filled with much free time. Sometimes I have only 3 classes in a day and the next 2 days I wouldn't have any. I had more free time during my finals. I only attend class twice a week sometimes, though my final year project took some of the free time but it wasn't as choked as having 15 subject classes a day during my high school. In high school I was less responsible for my learning process. I was reminded by my parents to perform well in school, do my homework on time, deal with me if I come home with bad grades, and force me to read for exams even when I don't feel like reading. But college was totally different, I was more responsible for my education in college.

There was nobody to force me to attend class, do assignments, or read for exams, even my lectures were less concerned with whether you attend their lectures or not. I had a more exposed and wide social life in college. I meet people from different backgrounds, with different beliefs, standards, morals and so on. It wasn't like high school where my classmates were the only people I interacted with. I was practically responsible for taking care of myself in college.

I remember my mum preparing my breakfast and lunch for school during high school. Sometimes she washes my uniforms and socks too but college wasn't like that, I supported and depended on myself. I cooked my meals, washed my clothes and was responsible for my everyday life, it wasn't easy but I scale through.


What you like and hate about each life

The best thing about my high school life was the fact that I didn't really worry about money issues. My parents bought my textbooks, gave me pocket money even though I took lunch to school. Coming home to meet amala and fish every evening was the best part. But college life wasn't easy, money was a problem. No matter how big the money I was sent by my parents was, it was never enough.

There was so much to do with money, from buying handouts, printing presentations and assignments, to paying different school dues, paying for this and that.
I loved how college life gave me freedom unlike high school life where I had to be home before 4:30pm. There was no curfew in college, I was free like a bird to do whatever I wanted to. That was the best part of my college life.


What you've learned in each life (how each life impacted you)

Transitioning from high school to college wasn't easy. I learned a lot from both life which have shaped me to become who I am today. I learned in high school how a strong foundation for academic excellence is important. If I hadn't been monitored and taught how to be responsible for my life during my high school days, I probably wouldn't have been able to go through college successfully.

I learnt about peer pressure during my high school life which helped me deal with peer influence during my college days. I was guarded and trained well by my parents during high school days, I even thought they were being too harsh on me those days, I never knew they were preparing me to become a responsible person in future. Those training from my parents and teachers in school propelled me to do better during my college days. College on the other hand wasn't a bed of roses. I had both sad and happy moments. I learnt how to be self dependent and a responsible adult which has helped me become a reliable person. Also networking skills is a very crucial aspect of one's life and I learnt how to network the right way during college. These networking skills opened different opportunities for me which have helped me advance in my career.

One key lesson I learnt during my college was Financial management. Through days of abundance and want, learning from others' finance stories, attending seminars about finance and reading books, I have learnt how to better manage my finances and be in control always.


Which life do you prefer and why?

Life is full of many experiences that can make or mar one's future. In all, I would say I prefer my college life to high school life because college life gave me a platform to grow, explore, and became a better version of myself.

Conclusion
I want to use this opportunity to invite the following people to this contest, @b-naj, @josepha, @prilly .

Sort:  

Nice post boss

The best thing about my high school life was the fact I didn't really worry about money issues.

Yes boss you are right, we really enjoyed alot from our parents during our high school days, they always made sure our writing materials are complete and we have lunch to take to school. Unlike high school life where we are all on our own.

 2 years ago 

Yes high school is the time you need to do everything you've to because people will do almost everything for you to be sure you're okay

 2 years ago 

Hello @jdkeys thanks for joining in this contest you've written so well about each of your school life

I learned in high school how a strong foundation for academic excellence is important.

I agree with on this high school laid good foundation for anyone who likes to succeed in life. Continue to be active in our community we appreciate you and I wish you success in this contest!

Status Club
club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI
0(self vote 0)
Grading:
8.5/10
Verification date:
08-25-22


Always click on the green button at the end of each post you read and like it's called upvote this will raise your voting CSI

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50