What's your degree?

in CampusConnect2 years ago

iStock-654454404-e1511259452480.jpg
Source

When I came back from my hometown some people were very happy and surprised to see us again. After almost 14 years of our absence, they are amazed at how we grew up and how we shine not only myself but also my siblings. In the past we looked like street children, we looked ugly and had dark skin because we worked on farms to make a living .. the common appearance of poor people.

We don't have nice clothes before because we can't afford new ones, and our clothes tend to be darker in color. When they saw us they really surprised me and my siblings have a different sense of fashion, as you know very well here I dress like a teenager, so I am a little more fashionable than wearing a loose shirt and jeans.

As a result, some of our older neighbors who had seen us when they were young asked me, as I was riding his tricycle.

Uncle: It's been years since your whole family left here. It's good that you are back here?

Me: Yes, we decided to come back when my mother decided to leave Manila.

Uncle: Is your mother married again?

Me: After all he used to live with her in Manila and he would come here when he was vaccinated and save money.

Uncle: It's good that at least your mother and stepfather will never come back. (They know how we fight the step of the father's hand before esp. Mom as he was beaten.)

Me: Yessss, at least

Uncle: How old are you now?

Me: I am turning 25 this year.

Uncle: Oh really? You are like Sixteen yrs, you are handsome.

Me: haha ​​thank you.

Uncle: You are my eldest daughters mates.

Me: yes your daughter is my batch here, (while mentioning the names of our peers)

Uncle: So when did you finish? (Referring to Degree)

Me: I couldn't finish my college, I have an undergraduate.

Uncle: Wow! (Sounds embarrassed with confidence) My daughter finished, blah blah blah and works for the government blah blah blah.

Me: Oh, well that at least they have stable jobs ..

Uncle: Yes and second to last she also works in the same way as his older sister who supported her after graduation.

Me: Wow okay ..

Uncle: You? Where do you work?

Me: I don't have a job, but I have a lot of money online.

Uncle: I see, at least your husband is a sailor so it's okay if you don't work, I heard your husband is a sailor? (Coming back here, it is already known that my partner is a sailor.

Me: haha ​​yeah.

Uncle: So you'll drop soon ..

Me: neah, my partner has just started his career and he still has some responsibilities to carry in his family so I trust him completely financially so I earn some income.

Uncle: Ah yes, a little extra is good too.

(Maybe you think, I look smart but I have no qualifications and I look rich because of my sailor husband)

Title matters in my country

In our country the title is important. People will give you a lot of respect when you graduate with a degree, it's like their respect is based on it. When you finish with good Degrees like Engr., Doctor, Teacher, Nurse etc .. they will treat you well.

So my uncle always bragged about his daughter's success, I was happy for them though because he was able to send his children to school and graduate by riding three bicycles. what many parents experience when their children complete their studies with their hard work.

What I do not like is explaining the numbers as I did not ask about it , and I even think I earn a penny because I do not have a degree, a sound when he says "a little extra is good too." which gives me the impression that he is humiliating me.

I could tell him I was earning more than her daughter's salary with my extra money but I didn't do it. I do not brag about what I get online as it is not a steady income, although I have spend two years on steemit and also check crypto, what I have gained here is not permanent and even if I get it permanently, I will not tell them.

Telling people how much you earn per day can be dangerous, and it's a way to brag, well in the crypto space is part of the journey especially crypto bloggers but I bet we don't show our entire portfolio.

And when you announce what you earn other people will come to you for a loan, hahaha! Lmao, so i am a lowly person especially i don't have as much in my portfolio as others.

I know that a Degree is important but I love what I have written that does not impress me especially if the graduates do not have the right character. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Nice story you share with us here, but next time always specify in your tag if it's fictional. Continue to be active in our community we appreciate you 💕 and you may consider delegating SP for us as we pay weekly delegation reward. thanks in advance

REMARKS;

Plagiarism-freeYES
#steemexclusiveYES
#club5050YES
DelegationNO
Bot-freeYES
BENEFICIARYNO
 2 years ago 

@goodybest I wants to delegate 50 so to campusconnect

 2 years ago 

Delegation is from 100 and I wants to delegate 50

 2 years ago 

Okay can you please use steemworld to delegate? It's simple

 2 years ago 

Ok
I will try that

 2 years ago 

Ok, thanks for the information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57839.82
ETH 3132.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43