Campus Connect Weekly Contest - Week 2 - The Big Competition @harrygwec

in CampusConnect3 years ago (edited)

Good day my fellow Steemian,

I believe our day is going well. I wanna use this medium to say thank you #campusconnect community for organizing this great contest.

guitar-905992_1280.jpg

Source

We were super excited while rehearsing our beautiful songs for the upcoming competition.

We have two different songs to present which I am the Music director and I am to solo the songs. We had several trainings and rehearsals, sometimes we even did slept at the studio whenever it gets late. We had really given our all our best for this big, national competition.

Whenever we were gathered for rehearsals we do not proceed without having a brief meeting. Now, this brief meeting was so important because we learnt a lot. In this meetings i do talk on some interesting topics, because they help build and encourage us, topics like; Love, Unity, Courage, Determination, Oneness/Togetherness.

Having known what it takes to be a singer, a minstrel or a musician, as a leader in the group I was able to know the strength and weaknesses of some of my crew when it comes to singing.

All through my 2 years as a leader of a crew, I do not neglect the place of having a brief talk with my crew members before the rehearsals itself or after rehearsals, either of the two.

I go by the saying which states that "if you are given 4 hours to cut a tree, it is wise and advisable that one uses 3hours to sharpen the blunt Cutlass given, then the remaining 1 hour can be for cutting the tree."

As a leader I have learnt that the most difficult thing to manage is human beings, so those meetings help build them and it made loving, respecting and valuing each other not too difficult, so every action as a leader was intentional.

team-3393037__480.webp

Source

So after the day's rehearsals everyone went to their various houses, I got home, after my bath I noticed I had slight cough before going to bed, little did I know that I was going to wake up with sore throat and severe cough. I woke up and noticed I couldn't speak well because of the severe cough and sore throat.

I was so sad because we had just two days left for the big competition, i was overwhelmed by the thought of that. I got so confused, I had thought about what to take for a fast cure, I even rushed to the hospital for help, I tried explaining and making them understand how really important I needed to be part of the big competition but it all seem to be impossible.

The doctor told me that the severe cough and sore throat can't be cured for just a day. Oh no! I exclaimed. I became so furious and pained because I had worked so hard in preparation for this big competition with my team.

I had even imagined us winning and we singing our Victory song with uncomfortable smiles on our faces. The thought of this pierces my heart. I had no choice but to encourage myself, so I said to myself "we still have to deliver with or without my presence, yes we can do this"

I picked up my phone to place a call through to my friend @cnhumphrey a steemian who is also part of the crew. But coincidentally his call came in, while talking on phone I was as well coughing seriously, he knew something was wrong and after the call he came over to the house. At first he was scared seeing me in such state, and the cough won't let me have a conversation.

Later on I got myself a little and I was able to have a conversation with my friend, and he felt really sorry for me. The next day was gonna be our final rehearsal for the big competition, so I had mentioned to my friend that I would love to have a talk with the crew (team) here in my house before the final rehearsal. I knew they would be amazed and curious getting such information.

And finally here they are at my apartment, all surprised seeing me in my bed, and my fainted voice. In that state of confusion, they were all calm and eager to hear and know what had happened or gone wrong. I smiled and welcomed everyone of them. I knew my cough won't let me, so I managed to tell them what had gone wrong, after being told their faces fell, I could feel what they were feeling at that point.

I told them to be calm. So I said to them "with or without me, we would deliver" I could tell in their expression on how broken, unhappy and surprised they are. But then I couldn't talk further so I played a recording of one of our messages which talked about Courage, Determination and Oneness(togetherness, teamwork).

After which I went further by using a stick of broom and a bunch of broom to give an illustration. So I raised a stick of broom, showed it to them and I broke it, that was so easy to break, they were all suprised at what I was doing or the message I was trying to pass across. So on the other hand I got a bunch of broom, called out the strongest among them, and gave it to him to break the bunch of broom, but after several attempt he couldn't, because it's in bunch and not a single stick of broom.

So I smiled and said to them "as far as we are together, stick together and work together as a team, we can not be broken, because each and everyone of you are the the best of your kind. We are the winner team, we don't fail to believe in ourselves. Whether or not we fail or win tonight, it doesn't break us rather it makes us. And because winning is our thing, we either Win or we Will, because loosing is not an option. We are Determined, Courageous and above all we love each other. Love is our foundation as a team, and there is no limit to what each and everyone of us can do and more as a team.

Love is our foundation, the love here represents God. So Good is our foundation and we as a Team depends solely on Him and on any human...

There and then I could hear them scream, jump, smiles and claps from different angles. I could feel how relieved and encouraged they were. I could hear them scream and say "let's do this, let's go do this""

My friend @ammy a Steemian also a crew member was appointed to take the solo of the songs I was meant to. After which they carried on with the final rehearsal in my absence. They recorded their rehearsal and forwarded it to me, and it came out perfect.

audience-1867754_1280.webp

Source

So there I was in my bed, all ready to follow the big competition on Tv and on radio too. Having listened to all participants, they all did greatly. It was time to call out the results, at this time I was shakey and really curious at the same time. It was time for the result to be called out, and here they took the light and my radio has an old battery in it, immediately I changed the battery, but unfortunately I didn't meet up to hear the result but all I could hear was a scream from my team members, they were all saying " we love you lot boss" we love you , thank you for believing in us, we finally made it." Immediately I jumped in excitement and tears rolled down my cheeks, that was a tears of joy. So I said to myself " finally we made this happen, what I imagined has come to pass". So I joined them in singing our victory song with uncontrollable smiles and joy in my heart.

So I say "Together we can make things happen".

Thank you @campusconnect for such a wonderful contest

Best regards

Sort:  

I love this story.

"Together we can make things happen" Only if many people knew the power of this worɗs. Nice content @harrygwec

Yeah thanks a lot for reading through @yuceetoria

You have been upvoted by @whitestallion and I’m voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator04 account to support African authors with original and quality content.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community.

Thank you so much. I really appreciate it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56085.77
ETH 2369.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31