A BLAST FROM THE PAST

in CampusConnect2 years ago (edited)

Past-Habits-Used-to-Would-and-the-Simple-Past.jpg
Source

THE GMDs!

This squad right here that call themselves the GMDs (make out whatever you wish from the acronym, if you know, you know) was everything during my childhood days. They are the first three of the 5 children of Late Sir Gab Muolokwu. The other 2boys are the babies of the house, 🙄🤦who slapped me?

I was raised in a devout Catholic home. My mum didn't spare anything in leading us to God. But the one she took most personally was protecting us from the environment we grew up in.

Due to her experience with sexual abuse and me almost being a victim, she did everything to protect us, like a hen does to protect her chicks. This would mean locking us up in the house to avoid interaction with the wild environment we grew up in. Then regimented TV as she sensored all we had to watch, etc.

This had a lot of good sides as it made us become creative on how to keep ourselves entertained.

This squad had in it, the weird one(I leave you to decipher), the awkward one(keep guessing) and the crazy one.

I saw myself as the one responsible for entertainment. I took it very seriously. I considered myself creative, organized events within our tiny flat then which ranged from art shows, music renditions, drama, mimicking nights, stupid made up stories that we all laugh about now.

Ooh how I tormented my siblings with stupid stories I made up! Growing up, I never asked questions, I called myself a scientist and when I ask the questions, I answer myself. Most of my answers were wrong but my tiny brain presented it to my siblings with pride. They took it all in, digested and believed in them! Why won't they, I'm the oldest child. What a torment to listen to many of my gibberish theories then! These ones suffered in my hands shaa.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

It must have been tough for your mom to go through such trauma and stress from raising her children, I hope she's alright. Also this your statement:

Why won't they, I'm the oldest big sis.

I thought you were a guy judging from your username and Dp or was it a typing mistake.

Sorry about the experience, your mum must have been through a lot and having her child go through the same must have frustrating for her. Hope now yoi are coping okay with the experience?

 2 years ago 

Most times when we look back to the stuffs we used to do in our childhood days, we smile because most of the things we did, we never even realized what it meant.

I love reading your post and I hope to read from you again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64153.02
ETH 3205.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63